We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!”

Wellington - World Wide Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wellington - World Wide Backpackers
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2009

This accomodation is cheap and scungey. The toilets and showers are dirty. It is a party house; noisy at night with drunk people drinking on the veranda, slamming doors which make the room and beds reverberate; yelling; sheets and duvet thin and washed out; rooms so small it is difficult to move about – we were in a three bed room and could really only have 2 people standing up and moving about at any one time; there was only two beds (bunk type) with the third bed being a mattress on a ledge arrangement above the door!

The ad says boutique accommodation; crisp linen sheets ! spacious and nicely decorated! Full length mirror! Warm and cosy

This the information I read the internet and also received as an information brochure in my booking confirmation email from you. It is lies!

Shame on them. What a poor reputation overseas travellers must have of NZ. There was a baby staying there last night – no situation for a child. Randoms in sleeping bags on sofas in TV room; non guests wandering around the house at 4am

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    12
    11
    18
See reviews for
2
22
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Three of us stayed here a couple of weeks ago. I was a little apprehensive after reading some other reviews, but we found this backpackers fine. So it wasn't fancy, rooms were very small, but they were clean and comfortable enough. The bathroom was clean and the showers were great. Was a little noisy at night, but you have to expect that when staying in a backpackers - just remember to take some earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Breakfast very basic, but you can't expect too much from a free breakfast. We found the location great - short walk into town - just make sure you walk up Ghuznee Street and not up Dixon Street, then Macdonald Crescent - its so much steeper that way (we found that out the hard way!). Overall an okay backpackers in a good location for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We had the same experience as the prior reviewer, sinbadhunter, and stayed in that crappy double room. It was really truly crap because of the backpackers smoking and chatting outside your room on the porch in the middle of the night. We were badly disrupted from our sleep. Nothing wrong with the porch hangout, but I really think the hostel owners should not place the room there. The bed was high and fairly comfortable, space was a little tight. The kitchen was quite dirty, but that may have just been the handiwork of other backpackers who had their breakfast earlier. Location-wise, it's sucky-an uphill 20 min walk from central Wellington. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enokilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I travelled around New Zealand for 4 weeks and this was by far the worst accomodation we stayed in. We booked a double room and we were given room 12 in the hostel. The trouble is the room is not located inside the hostel. It's a small shed like construction attached to the hostel outside in the courtyard. Our door led directly onto the sitting area where all the smokers sat and the front door of the hostel was a few metres away. On top of that you are right on the street, which is a fairly busy thoroughfare. We were kept up all night by people coming and going, smokers chatting away directly outside our door and traffic streaming past. The smell of smoke in the room was very unpleasant. The general cleaniness inside the hostel was below average as well. I'm sure the owenrs mean well but I think they could do with a major re-think on the rooms in the courtyard. On arrival reception was very friendly but after that our stay went downhill. Warning don't ask for room 12.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinbadhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

This is a lovely little hostel and a nice change from the big impersonal city hostels.

The location is good with only a 5-10 minute walk to shops, pubs, clubs and to many of the tourist attractions. The place is clean and the communal area is small and compact but very homely (a good place to meet friends and chat with other travellers).

Rooms are a little on the small side but they are kept clean and the bunk beds are not old an rickety.

Be sure to book in advance as beds are limited.

I highly recommend this small house/backpackers with its friendly staff. Lots of happy memories - thanks WWB.

  • Liked — The small homely feel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hayali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#12 of 53 in Wellington
420 reviews
0.3 km away
Trek Global
Trek Global
#9 of 53 in Wellington
254 reviews
1.1 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 53 in Wellington
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
0.6 km away
The Setup on Dixon
The Setup on Dixon
#10 of 53 in Wellington
468 reviews
2.1 km away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#4 of 53 in Wellington
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington - World Wide Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington - World Wide Backpackers

Property: Wellington - World Wide Backpackers
Address: 291 The Terrace | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price range (per night): $29 - $77
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the smallest backpacker in Wellington. W specialise in looking after our backpackers and ensuring that a friendly environment is had by all. If you are looking to meet people - then look no further!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington - World Wide Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington - World Wide Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing