We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your dates”
Review of Marksman Motor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marksman Motor Inn
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the location of this motel is directly opposite the Basin Reserve where concerts are held!! Need I say more. We were there on the night of a concert. The doors and windows did keep some of the noise out. Even more unfortunately beside us was what appeared to be a house full and yard full of young and extremely drunk and foul mouthed people. Not a wink of sleep until late early hours of the morning.
So check your dates would be my advice and don't get a room on your left when you drive in. Fabulous power in the shower, a pleasant change.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank valeriecollins7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

8 - 12 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2017

This is a Basic, but clean, Rather old motelstyle Unit in the midst of a haevy Traffic Area. Citycentre can be reached by Foot, although it is quite a Walk and no Shops near by . You will have a fridge and coffee making Equipment But no room for a decent breakfast for two.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

it seems nice, but at arrival, many hairs from the previous visitors had to be removed. Internet was not working at all, and this continued to be so the whole evening until the next day, although at 10 AM after many customers had left, it worked somewhat. bandwidth far too low for that many guests. The place is noisy with wooden ceilings, so every step of upstairs neighbours (including other noises that I did not ask for) were quite obvious. Would definitely not go here again and I think the 4 star rating should be brought down to 2 stars.

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

8 of us stayed in 2 one bedroom units for 2 nights. I arranged for an after hour check in, coming off a late Interislander Ferry which was easy. I was a bit apprehensive at first when we arrived, I didn't know the basin was that busy but plesantly surprised once the windows were fully closed that you could hardly hear anything, I had children so the little traffic we did hear was nothing. We stayed in units 9 and 10 right near the road. Parking is on a first in first serve basis. Fair enough! Price was extremely great for our dates, compared to other motels/hotels in the area so I was grateful. Rooms are clean, single bed and fold out couch in main room was great for our kids. Gave hubby and I peace and quiet. Overall... yes I would book here again if travelling back with my family to Wellington (hubby and I with our 6 kids - 2 Young adults, 2 teens and 2 young kids. With all the one way streets around the CBD area it was easier to walk most places. But the buses go past this place all the time.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Winia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Short drive to airport, Kilbirnie sports Centre and town. Only a 10 minute walk to Courtney Place.
Double galzing helped keep the traffic noise out and room was well appointed, warm and clean.
Free off street parking.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
2.6 km away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#30 of 47 in Wellington
160 reviews
0.7 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#21 of 47 in Wellington
698 reviews
1.1 km away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#34 of 47 in Wellington
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#46 of 47 in Wellington
389 reviews
2.9 km away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
0.7 km away
Capital View Motor Inn
Capital View Motor Inn
#18 of 47 in Wellington
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marksman Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marksman Motor Inn

Address: 40 - 44 Sussex Street, Wellington 6021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $102 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marksman Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable & affordable accommodation in Wellington. 19 x Studio, 1 & 2-bedroom units, some with full kitchen. Free off-street car parking. Walking distance to most major tourist attractions, conference centers and local restaurants. All rooms fully refurbished Sep/Oct 2006. Wireless internet access available (charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Marksman Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing