We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
84
179
145
55
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
179
145
55
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station guest kitchen bluebridge ferry dorm room own bathroom south island common areas free wifi new zealand easy access central location te papa cyrus picton waterfront stadium parliament
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Bedroom was a bit run down with the windowsill being rotted and windows hard to shut, but the bathroom was quite clean - there is a fan in the bathroom though which you cannot turn off and it makes quite a noise. Cleanliness in the kitchen was questionable though. Staff were very informative and helpful, recommended places to see and eat at, and when I went to complain about my room mates drinking in the room, they straight away got onto it. Prime location for the railway station, ferries and Westpac Stadium but not as central as other backpackers (only a 20 minute walk though)

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank g_lucy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia v, General Manager at Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback helps make a difference and is very much appreciated. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Silvia von der Brelie General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I found this hostel only a little run down, quite clean, surprisingly quiet, the staff were helpful and good value for money. Its also very convenient as there is food and drink available onsite and it's right next to the station. All in all a very decent hostel :)

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JosephineT674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia v, General Manager at Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very helpful and appreciated. We are pleased to let you know that there is a big refurbishment for the Waterloo coming in the near future and hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Silvia von der Brelie General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers for about 10 days in March 2018. We were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff and were impressed by their degree of helpfulness. Specifically talking, Cyrus (the front office manager) was really kind and even took the time to explain an issue that we had with bus routes and stuff. The hotel is very near to Lambton Quay, the main fashion street in Wellington.
Our room was also quite clean. We didn't have any major problems throughout our 10-day stay. I have to thank everyone at hotel Waterloo for their hospitality.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kafimohsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia v, General Manager at Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very helpful and appreciated. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Silvia von der Brelie General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

The decor is very dated throughout. Stayed in a single room that had a comfortable bed and clean shared bathroom. There is communal kitchen and restaurant available. WiFi is only free for 1 hour and then $3 per hour after that. Have to pay for luggage storage $4-8. Staff were polite, but missing the friendly feel of smaller hostels I have stayed in in NZ. Good location - close to ferry terminal and railway station, short walk from shops/cafes/sights.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank tripping742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia v, General Manager at Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback helps make a difference and is very much appreciated. We are pleased to let you know that there is a big refurbishment for the Waterloo coming in the near future. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Silvia von der Brelie General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

The bunk bed twin room that we got was old and disgusting. The screws of the bedframe were loose and top bunk felt like it was going to fall off. We had to try to ‘hand screw’ them. The toilet flush gets stucked sometimes. The door knob to the toilet was so loose i was afraid of not getting back into the room if it falls off. Nothing to rave about the front desk service. The only saving grace was the location.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Winnso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia v, General Manager at Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I was very disappointed to hear about your experience. I sincerely apologise and can assure you this is not our usual standard. I have personally addressed your feedback with the relevant team members and thank you for bringing this to my attention. Your feedback is helpful, valued and appreciated. Thank you again for providing feedback that will help make a difference. Silvia von der Brelie, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews