We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
USD 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 167
USD 148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 135
USD 122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 189
USD 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rydges Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
USD 150
USD 130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
USD 82
USD 73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Quality Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 115
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
At Home Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
USD 108
USD 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
USD 65
USD 54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
93
63
23
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
63
23
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain downtownmodern art decoextremely friendly helpful staffsmith streetgreat comfortdelicious buffet breakfasta deluxe king roombreakfast chefmain barvalet parkingshort walk to cuba streetstunning hotelmajor renovationhuge tvglass doorcomplimentary upgradewelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Stayed 4 nights at the GM Wellington for the start of our wedding anniversary trip to the North Island. The hotel really looked after us with a gift to celebrate our anniversary and the staff were very attentive, especially during check-in. Bed was fantastic, room very comfortable and the view from our room was excellent. Bathroom well laid out, but the use of a glass door possibly not the best idea!
Had dinner one night in the restaurant which was excellent and the service was pleasant and attentive without being intrusive.
The only downside was the cost of parking, and unless you are planning day trips out of the city, you don't need a car to get around Wellington.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JzdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeStunden, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Kia ora JzdB, I was so pleased to read that we made your wedding anniversary a memorable experience for you, it was our pleasure. Thank you for taking the time to share this with everyone.

Best Regards
Jade Stunden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

I have never been this satisfied with accomodation ever!! The customer service was wonderful, the staff were friendly and lovely, and the rooms and design of the hotel was elegant but at the same time so comfortable and we felt welcome.

It was my husbands birthday and they had prepared a lovely chocolate plate for him to enjoy. So thoughtful!! There was even a handwritten card welcoming us.

The service they provided was flawless, they went above and beyond!!! From free complimentary drinks at the bar to a nice mineral water in our car from valet parking.

Many of the accomodations have limited to no car parks but Mercure guarenteed us our car park which was underground which made it safer.

I am going to make this my go to hotel when I'm in wellington. I can't wait to stay there again.

The buffet breakfast was beautiful and delicious as well.

Thank you for making our stay so brilliant and memorable.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank yukor214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeStunden, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Kia ora yukor214, I am so pleased you loved our hotel and service, thank you very much for sharing your experience so that others can come and visit us knowing they will have a fabulous stay. We hope to welcome you again soon

Kind Regards
Jade Stunden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We booked 2 separate nights and on both bookings I requested a higher level of the Hotel and on both occasions our request was granted. Breakfast was just a little disappointing with some of the food not served hot - could have been that the the serving dish didn't have a lid like the other food on offer. Still not a good variety of vegetarian food on offer.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 454jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeStunden, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Kia ora Jenny
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Sorry about the breakfast, I will review this immediately. I hope to see you again at the hotel so we can grant your requests again.

Regards
Jade Stunden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent service at check-in. Greeted with a bubbly smile for a 1am arrival.
The rooms are clean and wonderfully functional while the Forage bar and restaurant has a great vista over the NZ capital.
A short stroll, 10-15 mins, to the main part of town and the wharf area.
The beds are knock-out comfortable.
A definite tick for all the key reasons.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeStunden, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Kia ora Gordon, thank you so much for the review, I am so glad you loved your stay and hope you will be back

Regards
Jade Stunden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I had to come to the city last minute due to a business meeting the next morning. Booked in the afternoon and on arrival I was notified I had been given a room upgrade. The staff were friendly and personable, the room was immaculate and the check out was a very simple process. Will happily book again!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Antof88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeStunden, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Kai ora Antof88, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us, I am so pleased you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again in the future

Kind Regards
Jade Stunden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews