We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to lift your game”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Need to lift your game”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 30 years. The experience this time was OK but not what I expect from the 'Jimmy Cook'. The restuarant feels drab and dark. The rooms lack colour. It's just dated and this iconic hotel should be renovated, inject some life back into it! As for front office staff, sadly I found them to be a little lacking when dealing with them. Nice enough but seemed no one really knew what was what. All of this said, I won't break with tradition on this property so we will go back there next trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I appreciate your loyalty and I am disappointed that your last experience was not the usual high standard that you are accustomed to. We are in the process of completing a soft refurbishment of our Lambton Rooms, which will result in a new vibrant colour scheme. Again, thank you for your feedback and hopefully your next stay will restore your faith in us.

Best regards
Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    1,295
    555
    129
    55
See reviews for
559
961
142
858
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed in one of the Club Floor rooms and the room was in good condition, comfortable and had everything that you would expect, apart from an in-room safe for some reason.

The club lounge itself is not impressive. It has a nice view but it is small and the food and drink spread that is put on in the evening is nice enough but there is not much to choose from. If you were going to be paying the money for breakfast at the hotel anyway (more on that later) then I think you might just be able to get your money's worth if you stay in a room on the Club Floor, but I for one would not rave about it.

The hotel is well located with a lift down to Lambton Quay. Without exception the staff were all superb whenever we got to interact with any of them.

We dined at he Whitby's restaurant for one dinner and three breakfasts and the service was excellent but the coffee that is served with breakfast does win the prize for being the worst coffee that I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnySLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your review. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Executive Club Lounge does present good value for money. An upgrade to the Club Floor includes a full buffet breakfast, complimentary internet access in your Club King Room, evening drinks and canapés and 24 hour access to the Club Lounge. We have endeavoured to create a space where our guests can relax and rejuvenate at the end of their day or in between sight-seeing and shopping. I appreciate your feedback and do look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards
Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Positives:
An iconic Wellington hotel
Nice lobby/bar
Rooms are comfortable
Full hotel facilities - gym, 2 restaurants etc
I got a GREATt deal on Wotif, including a free drink on arrival

Negatives:
A little dated
The lobby bar/restaurant is nice but used as a public thoroughfare by peopel cutting through the hotel
Be aware that, late at night, they lock up the Lambton Quay entrance, and it's a long walk round to the Terrace entrance - and easy to get lost...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your review. I’m pleased the positives outweighed the negatives during your stay with us. The thoroughfare in the lobby can get busy at certain times of the day as it connects Wellington’s main shopping and business districts. This foot traffic does provide a certain vibrancy and atmosphere in our lobby, as well as the opportunity to people-watch over a coffee or wine. Thank you once again for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Be warned...the novel begins

I stayed here last year with my husband and we were happy with the experience - so I was thrilled when I won a wonderful prize which included gorgeous gift vouchers to stay at the James Cook Grand (great I thought!)

These gift vouchers (One of which I'd given to my parents and one I'd kept) stipulated they could be used any Friday, Saturday and Sunday (including public holidays) with the only fine print being your standard "Bookings essential - subject to availability clause".

So I instantly thought a trip to the WOW awards for me, hubby, mum and dad. Bought those tickets through WOW (great service, went the extra mile to secure even better tickets than were shown so I was ecstatic) and then came what I can only describe as gift voucher discrimination or dodging (given that it started yesterday and ended this afternoon!)

Voucher dodging begins...

Day One

It started with a 'yes we have availability' to 'oh I don't think we accept vouchers though, it's WOW weekend'. This would have been fine if that's what my voucher excluded. I then explained that I didn't have my gift voucher with me but was sure that this event was not singled out (or anything else). (Sayali) then explained she'd get back to me by 12 after talking with her manager - I then had to call her back because she didn't call me but when I did, funnily enough she 'was just about to'. She then told me her manager said all vouchers 'stipulate they can't be used during special events and mine would have that on it' so I went home curious and a bit deflated but if that's what they all say then that's what they all say.

Day Two

As I thought the gift voucher did not state anything like that so I rang again, asked about availability (which there was) and then proceeded to utilise my gift vouchers. Same response - only this time Sayali needed to check again with her manager. I asked how long this would take - she didn't know but said she'd ring by 12. Again nothing, so I had to ring back, she was at lunch and would call me at 12.30pm, nothing so I called again (feeling like a little bit of a stalker now), she was still at lunch, so I asked to speak to her manager who as it turned out was also at lunch with her. So I waited some more (by this stage I really felt like a stalker) - this was confirmed when at my next attempt at a call back my call was diverted for a long time until 'low and behold' they were on the other line trying to call me (it's like they read my mind...or had Caller ID!)

So I finally had the manager (Stephanie) on the line: 'Our vouchers aren't applicable during special events and subject to availability means this' funny, because I thought subject to availability just meant that rooms needed to be available in order to book them (which they were - but probably not after this marathon game of phone tag). After awhile (I'm getting annoyed) Stephanie then said she'd get the General Manager to call me. I thought finally this could be good - he'd know - after all he signed the gift voucher and all that it offered.

So a bit happier knowing the GM would call me I did get a phone call back - but from Stephanie who said the GM said to tell me 'we do accept vouchers that weekend but all available rooms were taken' as if I didn't see that one coming but more to the point hang on a minute - you've just spent two days telling me that no vouchers are accepted during WOW weekend - so who are these mysterious 'voucher' people who've bucked the trend and been able to book during the unbookable WOW weekend and taken all the availability?

Probably the same people that come from the land of "Once upon a time" only by this time I was over that and over their successful attempt at managing to dodge my "scary" gift voucher bullet.

Well done James Cook Grand Hotel - thanks for the grand prize and service - you won me and lost me (and my husband parents and friends) in two days.

We live in a world of vouchers and coupons (this was a gift voucher from them) so it amuses me that a hotel of such high standing did such a great job of dodging 'the dreaded person with a gift voucher'. We aren't freeloaders so today it felt great to feel like one (yeah right).

But hey, if you don't have a gift voucher, cash is king here folks.

James Cook Hotel Grand - if you want to offer someone a gift/voucher/prize don't try to hide behind excuses for not permitting them or at least all be on the same page - it's more believable that way.

Room Tip: Great to get any, if you get through with a voucher
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Please accept my apologies for the confusion surrounding the use of your complimentary voucher. We support a large number of charitable causes by way of our team volunteering hours and by providing over-night accommodation vouchers and food & beverage vouchers for use in our restaurants. We honour all of these vouchers, subject to availability – which simply means when we know we will have rooms available we will accept the vouchers. There are of course a number of peak nights and events throughout the year when we know the hotel will fill, we do not accept complimentary vouchers on these nights. Please feel free to contact our reservations department to discuss alternative nights, we would love to have you come back and stay and I am sure we will provide you with the same enjoyable experience as last time.

Once again my apologies for the confusion.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I will be looking at other hotels to stay at, simply due to the crazy price of their Internet. They should be supplying it for free rather than 60c a minute. Yes, 60c a minute, true daylight robbery. Goes up to $12.50 for two hours and $30 a day, but you get bugger all MB allowance.
You're better off buying a 3G USB stick for your computer if you stay, say, a week like I did.
Their laundry prices are also of the hotel rip-off pricing structure, $12.50 for a shirt for example, but that was expected at least.
Otherwise, nice place to stay, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are a looking a bit "tired" but acceptable. I got a room service burger one night and it was OK as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baker_tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thanks for your comments. In terms of our internet charges, currently $12.50 gets you 2 hours and 100MB or for $29.95 you get 24 hours access and 300MB – we do offer complimentary WIFI in our foyer area (20 minute blocks) and complimentary internet access up to 300MB per 24 hours in our Club Floor rooms.

Hopefully we can entice you back with our friendly service

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
0.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.5 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,567 reviews
1.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 km away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Property: James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price range (per night): $102 - $536
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing