We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position, service could be improved.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good position, service could be improved.”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was the only Standard room we ended up staying in during our travels in NZ and I must say that it was perfectly adequate. The view was excellent and the bar and restaurant looked fine, although we used neither (simply because we prefer to go out walking and sampling the places we are in rather than staying inside the hotels). Parking could be an issue although we arrived at a convenient time and managed to park for free opposite the hotel. It is indeed convenient for the Interislander, as someone else mentioned - just an easy ten minute drive away. My reservation was an apparent lack of interest in helping us with bags upon arrival, but as our stay progressed I realised that this is quite common in NZ. In fairness, we were only there for one night so four stars is the appropriate grading for me - the bathroom was impressive and the cleanliness as spotless as everywhere else. By the way, the pool is not particularly impressive but the situation of the hotel is quite good if you are prepared to walk a little.

Room Tip: Not sure if they all face the harbour - if not, ask for one that does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    608
    172
    43
    23
See reviews for
324
627
62
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Great location to sample the social life in the area and also very handy for the inter-island ferry.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, well equipped and have great views over the harbour. They are also very quiet.

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food although the beer was good.

Initial parking to check-in is a pain and there is a charge for overnight parking however the car was back at the time requested to speed up our departure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We were unfortunately in Wellington for a sad family occasion. The staff at the Copthorne Oriental Bay were extremely supportive and went over and above to make things easier for us including juggling rooms when we needed to extend our stay. The serene view over Wellington harbour, the sunsets and Christie's amazing late night gourmet hot chocolates at the bar (suggest you try the mint one) were SO good. Would stay there again in a heartbeat - hopefully in happier circumstances next time.

Room Tip: Try and get 10th floor for maximum harbour views (although most rooms have a view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScooterAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My fiancee and I got married in wellington and booked a king bed suite at the hotel for the night. What can I say? The room was amazing and represented very good value compared to other hotels in the city, and you could not ask for better views! We were greeted with smiles when we checked in and the service was excellent throughout! we would definitely reccomend the Copthorne to anyone who is visiting Wellington.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband and I loved this hotel. It was one of the best rooms we stayed in during our entire vacation in New Zealand. We received an upgrade upon arrival and had a waterfront view on floor 5. The view was fabulous and I had to take several pictures. Having this room made me want to just stay in the room and sip wine overlooking the harbor. So we did. We ventured out in Wellington for dinner but returned early to get a good night's sleep. A good nights sleep we got the bed was super comfy. I wish all my rooms had been this night. It made me feel spoiled to have this much luxury. We stayed in a combination of hostels and hotels. The price was very reasonable for the luxury you get. I booked on Orbitz. The room has a small fridge and coffee maker. The room is incredibly spacious. The bathroom was nice and the shower had great water pressure. The top floor has a small pool and a bar with a restaurant. We did not eat or drink here but the top floor looked nice. It is true the parking isn't the greatest you can park in a nearby garage and for a fee. We parked in the meter parking because it was free in the late afternoon and just put money in at 8am. It wasn't an issue for us. The hotel is within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The staff was super friendly. I would definitely return to this hotel and this would be my only choice in Wellington.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bcogswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,618 reviews
0.6 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,141 reviews
1.8 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,395 reviews
1.4 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Wellington

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Property: Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price range (per night): $144 - $360
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing