We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible parking but great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
“Terrible parking but great hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great location and a short stroll to Te Papa and into the city. We used the "kids N all" package deal breakfast included, this was a full buffet type and a good variety to choose from. The family room for the Kids n All package was a superior plus studio room. They are not separate bedrooms but the room is split in two by the en-suite bathroom which effectively creates two separate and discreet sleeping areas. On one side of the bathroom is a sleeping area with a king bed and on the other side are two single beds. This worked very well for us. The room was lovely and clean a big up's to the friendly cleaning staff!
Our only gripe would be the parking, We paid $23 for parking that we had to travel down the the road through 2 sets of traffic lights which then lead you to the back of the Copthorne then if you were lucky you were able to squeeze into a very narrow ally type park, careful not to scratch cars either side of you. Otherwise if you were unlucky you could park in a vacant type carpark lot accross the rd behind the hotel. We were assured that the carpark there was fine however we felt very uncomfortable leaving it there and thought $23 was a rip off when we could of parked out the front of hotel for a much less cost/free and been able to keep an eye on it. Apart from parking great hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get higher than level 1 as the view is lovely especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    601
    168
    41
    21
See reviews for
316
611
61
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights here in Jan 2012. It was a little surprising to find a hotel of this standing was going to charge guests for car parking , although luckily our stay was Sat/Sun and street parking was not chargeable at these times so we parked there . If your room is floor 7 and above you will have to negotiate bar and possibly a second lift to get to your room . The swimming pool is grimy ,has no changing facility and is in need of refurbishment.
Beware at checkout of "extra's " on your bill , they attempted to charge us for parking which we did not use , breakfast which was already included on our pre-paid booking and credit card payment charge when I was paying with cash . All these charges were dropped without question when challenged but if I hadn't I would have been a lot worse off . The one legitimate charge for internet seemed very steep , especially when other establishments we stayed in made no charge at all . If I return to Wellington I will stay elsewhere .

Room Tip: Choose sea view if possible . Dont go above sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We decided this year to stay in Wellington and explore the city again. We had a great room, excellent views and the meal was just wonderful in the restaurant, we can highly recommend...

Room Tip: we chose the unforgettable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deehtee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gomersal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

It was a real pleasure staying in this hotel which is well located on Oriental Bay with great views of the harbour. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room did not have air conditioning and, being from Yorkshire, we don't like things too warm. We mentioned this to the guy who brought our luggae up and he immediately brought us an efficient pedestal fan whcih proved more than adequate for the period of our visit. There are a number of restaurants and bars in the area so we didn't use the hotel dining facilities other than for breakfast which was more than adequate. The nearby White House restaurant was excellent - we were warned that it is a little pricey but they allow BYO wine on Sunday evenings.

Room Tip: The higher rooms at the back have great views but do not have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
224 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

A great place for a mini break. We got a shareholder rate for a superior plus room which made it a very affordable option for this visit to Wellington. Check in and out very efficient and front of house staff very friendly and welcoming. Our room, as always, was nicely appointed and the glorious views over the harbour and city with superb weather! If you show your AA members card the parking charge is waived here too.

Room Tip: A superior plus room guarantees you a harbour view-it is worth the extra cost and the room is slight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.8 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.6 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.4 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
1.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Property: Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price range (per night): $150 - $282
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing