We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Great family trip

Family trip of 13 people across to Days Bay return via Matiu Somes Island great entertainment for... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2021
Jared-Kiwi
,
Wellington, New Zealand
via mobile
Soames Island Wander

Brilliant trip to Soames Island for the day. $50 for two adults for the day return trip represents... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2020
Phedder
,
Invercargill, New Zealand
Read all 121 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Wellington
from USD 48.89
More Info
from USD 119.00
More Info
from USD 13.89
More Info
from USD 13.89
More Info
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
66
46
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
66
46
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews days bay matiu somes island slick operation ferry harbour crew
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2020

I've been in Wellington a number of times over the years (mostly for work), but have never been out on the Harbour - apart from twice on the Cook Straight Ferry. My friend suggested catching a ferry, which is not something I had thought of doing. The weather was exceptional so it was very busy. The staff member in the ticket office was very friendly and the ferry trip was fun. We went across to Day's Bay for a nice lunch and a look around.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2020

My wife and I used the East by West Ferries today, what a great find. We had four different rides, every one picked up and delivered on time.

We really didn't know what we were doing. We're not that familiar with the area. We wanted to go from Strathmore Park (a Wellington suburb) to Days Bay. We needed to get to Wellington's CBD and from there across the harbor to Days Bay.

First we thought we'd have to take a bus to the CBD, then back again at the end. It turns out we were able to catch the ferry near where we're staying, about a 10 minute walk. It took us to Queens Warf, from there off to Days Bay on the same ferry. Too cool.

Coming back we were able to catch the 12:45 ferry from Days Bay to Queens Warf. We got two hours in Wellington, did a quick Parliament (The Beehive, which was also really good) tour, and then caught the 3:30 ferry back to Seatoun.

The only reason we knew what we could do and how to do was because we got help from a very nice lady in the ferry office named Caitlyn. She responded to an email very quickly and clearly. We also called the office and she answered the phone and helped us some more. Great job Caitlyn

During our ferry rides we got additional help from the boat's deck hand, Katie. Katie was on three of our rides and made sure we knew what we were doing and assured us that we'd be fine.

These two ladies really helped make this a stress free and enjoyable day. That and the quality of the ferry service were much appreciated.

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank Izzymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2020

Very efficient service and spot on time for both legs of the journey. Seating inside and outside is very good. Reasonable price. Regular service

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2020 via mobile

We were gifted a family pass for Christmas 2018 which expired in June. With life (which got in the way in 2019 for us) we had no chance to use it before June so I emailed their office explaining our situation and they extended it. This happened again later in the year and they were more than happy to extend it again. Today we used the voucher... no problems at all and all staff, at the ticket counter, at the wharf, on the boat were just fantastic. A must do trip!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank AnnaNZPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2019

Lovely round the harbour trip on mid sized, comfortable boat. Smooth sailing on the day we went, great views from up on top.

Date of experience: October 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews