We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Great family trip

Family trip of 13 people across to Days Bay return via Matiu Somes Island great entertainment for... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2021
Jared-Kiwi
,
Wellington, New Zealand
via mobile
Soames Island Wander

Brilliant trip to Soames Island for the day. $50 for two adults for the day return trip represents... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2020
Phedder
,
Invercargill, New Zealand
Read all 121 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Wellington
from USD 48.89
More Info
from USD 119.00
More Info
from USD 13.89
More Info
from USD 13.89
More Info
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
66
46
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
66
46
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews days bay matiu somes island slick operation ferry harbour crew
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2020

Very efficient service and spot on time for both legs of the journey. Seating inside and outside is very good. Reasonable price. Regular service

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2020 via mobile

We were gifted a family pass for Christmas 2018 which expired in June. With life (which got in the way in 2019 for us) we had no chance to use it before June so I emailed their office explaining our situation and they extended it. This happened again later in the year and they were more than happy to extend it again. Today we used the voucher... no problems at all and all staff, at the ticket counter, at the wharf, on the boat were just fantastic. A must do trip!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank AnnaNZPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2019

Lovely round the harbour trip on mid sized, comfortable boat. Smooth sailing on the day we went, great views from up on top.

Date of experience: October 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2019

we went to Days bay for an afternoon. The boat ride was a highlight, even though the weather was cold. Next time we will stop at somes, Great way to see the city

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2019

Full disclosure - we took this trip because we could do it for free with our newly-received Supergold Cards. Here's the thing, though: we would not normally wake up on a fine Wellington Sunday morning in June and choose to go out to Days Bay. But we did because we could. The harbour was the proverbial millpond, and it was one of those good days in Wellington that you can't beat.

We had a drink on the way over - a very palatable Pinot Gris for me, and a beer for him - at normal pub prices, which surprised me. No captive customer mark-up, like you get at airports and bus terminals. There was an almost-stop at Seatoun, which meant the charming young man leaning over the side towards the wharf and asking if the fishers there were waiting for the ferry, and the vessel continuing on when the answer was no. So the entertainment was free as well.

We spent a cool hour and a half in Days Bay having a late lunch and an ice-cream and enjoying the ducks and a short walk before returning to the jetty for the return trip.

We sat on the open deck up top on the way back, being well-wrapped up against the winter chill, and relished the journey into the sunset, via another almost-stop at Matiu Soames Island.

The staff were impeccably professional and warmly friendly at the same time. No doubt weekday commuters see it differently, but I heartily recommend this as a short weekend cruise at an excellent price (even if you don't have a Supergold Card). Home tourism is never wasted.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank greatkiwip0et
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews