We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Great family trip

Family trip of 13 people across to Days Bay return via Matiu Somes Island great entertainment for... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2021
Jared-Kiwi
,
Wellington, New Zealand
via mobile
Soames Island Wander

Brilliant trip to Soames Island for the day. $50 for two adults for the day return trip represents... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2020
Phedder
,
Invercargill, New Zealand
Read all 121 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Wellington
from USD 48.80
More Info
from USD 118.78
More Info
from USD 13.87
More Info
from USD 13.87
More Info
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
66
46
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
66
46
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews days bay matiu somes island slick operation ferry harbour crew
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2019

Full disclosure - we took this trip because we could do it for free with our newly-received Supergold Cards. Here's the thing, though: we would not normally wake up on a fine Wellington Sunday morning in June and choose to go out to Days Bay. But we did because we could. The harbour was the proverbial millpond, and it was one of those good days in Wellington that you can't beat.

We had a drink on the way over - a very palatable Pinot Gris for me, and a beer for him - at normal pub prices, which surprised me. No captive customer mark-up, like you get at airports and bus terminals. There was an almost-stop at Seatoun, which meant the charming young man leaning over the side towards the wharf and asking if the fishers there were waiting for the ferry, and the vessel continuing on when the answer was no. So the entertainment was free as well.

We spent a cool hour and a half in Days Bay having a late lunch and an ice-cream and enjoying the ducks and a short walk before returning to the jetty for the return trip.

We sat on the open deck up top on the way back, being well-wrapped up against the winter chill, and relished the journey into the sunset, via another almost-stop at Matiu Soames Island.

The staff were impeccably professional and warmly friendly at the same time. No doubt weekday commuters see it differently, but I heartily recommend this as a short weekend cruise at an excellent price (even if you don't have a Supergold Card). Home tourism is never wasted.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank greatkiwip0et
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2019

It was a lovely sunny and blue skies when passengers loading on the boat. We went round the bay and stopped off at three islands. It became quite choppy and the spray was coming over the front of the boat, but the skipper came up to check we were OK, but did not advise us to go below. It was a really enjoyable trip and would recommend it. I did not get off, but you could visit the islands, although best to check what time the ferry would come back to collect you.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank TravellerIlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2019 via mobile

Headed off on the 10.30 ferry to Days Bay via Seaton. Choppy passage but giving a good view of coastal Wellington. At Day’s Bay we took to Eastbourne where we had lunch.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Ragdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2019

I booked a Days Bay tour and I had a nice time. The front desk staff was accommodating and the Ferry crew were very helpful and attentive to their passengers. The departure and arrival were on time too. I will definitely book with them again soon!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Wanderess_Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2019

Inexpensive way to see Wellimgton from the water. Not too much to do in Days Bay or Eastbourne, and limited choice of restaurants. Good for kids.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Mary Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews