We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wellington City Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 April 2012

All enquiries prior to arrival dealt with quickly and efficiently.
Easy access to cottage with keypad rather than a key. The situation of the cottage just off Cuba Street is excellent. On our last night we ate out at Logan Brown's, supposedly the best restaurant in Wellington, which was less than 5 minutes' walk away so very convenient.
Very comfortable bed with good quality linen, not a great deal of hanging space, only 3 wooden hangers on the wall, but plenty of drawer space.
Excellent shower room.
Excellent kitchen facilities, would have liked some disposable dishcloths, as felt that cloth had been used by previous occupants. Breakfast provisions much appreciated.
Lounge area not very cosy - sofa not particularly comfortable.
Very close to the other cottage so didn't feel very private.
Awoken in the early hours on our second night by dustbins being emptied.
Would have no hesitation in recommending these lovely cottages.

Room Tip: Don't think there will be much to choose between the two cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwoman06897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

These wee cottages are fantastically located, and having an included car park right in the middle of town was fabulous. The bed was comfy with nice linen and the bathroom was well appointed. The kitchen was great and although we didn't partake, the breakfast goodies box is a really nice and generous touch. We only stayed one night but it was absolutely perfect for our needs as we could walk to our favourite Wellington bar 'The Southern Cross' in less than two minutes, and also enjoyed a fab meal at Havana which is also very close by. My only 'less than amazing' comment is that the lounge set up isn't great if you are planning on staying for a few days and intend to spend any time chilling in the cottage - the couch isn't too comfy and is on an awkward angle to view the television, which is quite small. However, with the amazing sights and sounds of Wellington literally on your doorstep, watching TV was not on our 'to do list'! In addition to the actual cottage, we had amazing service from Jeff who replied promptly to our emails and was very flexible and accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great place to stay. Easy walking distance to city centre. Very easy having access codes instead of keys to the room. TV was a little small and couch not too comfortable to sit on, but we weren't there to sit and watch tv so didn't really matter.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The location of the house is great. We were able to walk to everywhere that we needed to go to. The other bonus is some fantastic cafes and shops right on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had been traveling in NZ for about 2 weeks when we met another couple from home in Wellington. We chose City Cottages because we needed a place for 2 couples where we could have our own space but be together when we wanted. From location to setup to amenities, it was perfect. In no particular order, we loved having wifi, a washer & dryer, dishwasher, a great shower, space to spread out, outdoor seating for when the weather was good, & a place to park the car. It was great to be able to make our own meals when we wanted. Owner was very helpful and responsive when we needed him. This place is spotlessly clean, an accomplishment in a city location. It's not as quiet as a place in the middle of the country, but it is very quiet given its central location. The pocket door separating the bed from the rest of the cottage also helped cut noise on a boisterous Saturday night. One unexpected benefit of the location (other than being within walking distance of just about everything we wanted to do) was the Sunday morning farmers market just a few blocks away. It's worth going just to see all the beautiful fruit and veg on sale.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jct263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.9 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
1.4 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,669 reviews
1.5 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,200 reviews
1.9 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Wellington

Been to Wellington City Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington City Cottages

Address: 5 - 7 Tonks Grove | Cuba Quarter, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $163 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellington City Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two heritage cottages built in 1880 and fully renovated 2010. Each cottage sleeps up two 4 guests (total 8) and comes with a carpark and wireless internet. Located in vibrant Cuba Quarter, within a few minutes walk of most Wellington attractions. Combine with nearby Wellington City Townhouse, Wellington City Studio and Wellington City Bed and Breakfast to sleep a total of 22 people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wellington City Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing