We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Class Eating in Wellington”
Review of Logan Brown

Logan Brown
Reserve a table
Ranked #10 of 920 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$65 - AU$88
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Taste of Our Place - Kia Ora, Kai, Kaitiaki. At Logan Brown, you'll experience a welcoming, inspiring and genuine taste of our place, our people and the produce that makes you proud to be a New Zealander. We opened in December Friday the 13th in 1996 and decades later it is way different but still the same! We have evolved with dining trends, service styles, taken opportunities with new product and techie innovations and of course will continue to do so. What has never changed is the sharing with our guests our true passion for our craft, our community and our country. We want everyone to be as proud as we are about New Zealand’s environment, the land and seas bounty, and the amazing people who harvest or produce from it. Working closely with these passionate producers inspires and excites the team who are proud to share their stories, and we always welcome new seasons and new to the market produce from suppliers and give it a go.
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This is a converted Bank building, with interesting history and a restaurant that can readily compete with the best. Good service, good food, no exceptional food, and popular. There are few places in Wellington where booking is essential, but if you want to select the highlight tables, and there is a difference, then I would definitely book.
It is a meal of courses and there are always a number of specials and different options. Celebrity Chef who is one of the leaders in NZ Cuisine. We have had a number of meals here and never been let down. It is pricey though, but no more than you would expect to pay anywhere for a special meal.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thanks John R for the outstanding review! We are so glad that we have never let you down in any of your dining experiences here with us. We look forward to seeing you in the dining room again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 939 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2016

The whole dining experience was truly enjoyable from the well crafted menu and deliciously cooked meal to the attentive staff who were there when you needed them but were not hovering around the table. Top marks Logan Brown.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bevan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thanks Wellywoods2 for the amazing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience here with us. Hope to see you again in the restaurant soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Special night out while on a quick getaway. Five course degustation menu with marched wines. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable, explaining each course and the characteristics of the matched wine. The courses are small but by the time you get through them all you'll need nothing more. The flavours are outstanding.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank swampykevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thanks swampykevin for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your 5 course degustation and the waitstaff's explanations. We hope to see you in the restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

We had the 3 course set menu which was really good we had the wine match too. But we were stuck upstairs and I would rather be in amongst the crowd as I felt a bit isolated and at the mercy of our single waitress.
But when I got back to the hotel i tucked into a bag of bhuja mix and I am of slight build - not usually a little piggy but I wanted something to fill me a little more.
Their idea of gluten free was to remove components of each dish rather than replace maybe that is why I had remained hungry. Any way i wouldnt rush back because of this.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank kiwibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Hi kiwibear thanks for the review. I am sorry you felt isolated upstairs we can always try our very best and move tables around so you can sit downstairs in among the crowd if we are asked. We are so sorry you left hungry when you left rather than replace items that we remove because of dietaries we put more of the other components of the dish. We do hope that we do see you again in the restaurant so we can ensure that you have the true Logan Brown experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Logan Brown has the perception of being Wellingtons finest dining establishment. In the past they have earned this reputation, however in recent visits I feel perhaps they have lost their edge with many other restaurants now able to deliver an exceptional food and dining experience at a fraction of the cost.

The Paua Ravioli is iconic to Logan Brown and always delicious and flavorful.

This is a 'special occasions' kind of experience unless it's a business lunch/dinner and you're wanting to make a great first impression.

The food is amazing, service is impeccable and the atmosphere is formal. Not suited for everyone, however and experience one must tried at least once.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank capitalfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thanks capitalfoodie for the review, I will pass on your feedback to the restaurant team but glad to see we have got another star back since your last visit. Hope to see you again in the restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Logan Brown also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Logan Brown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.