We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close the doors”
Review of Logan Brown

Logan Brown
Reserve a table
Ranked #9 of 922 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$65 - AU$88
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Taste of Our Place - Kia Ora, Kai, Kaitiaki. At Logan Brown, you'll experience a welcoming, inspiring and genuine taste of our place, our people and the produce that makes you proud to be a New Zealander. We opened in December Friday the 13th in 1996 and decades later it is way different but still the same! We have evolved with dining trends, service styles, taken opportunities with new product and techie innovations and of course will continue to do so. What has never changed is the sharing with our guests our true passion for our craft, our community and our country. We want everyone to be as proud as we are about New Zealand’s environment, the land and seas bounty, and the amazing people who harvest or produce from it. Working closely with these passionate producers inspires and excites the team who are proud to share their stories, and we always welcome new seasons and new to the market produce from suppliers and give it a go.
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

This restaurant is a far cry of what it used to be like, not the same owned anymore and it just runs off the name on the side of the building. Firstly clean the place up its dirty and get a cleaner into those toilets. Also the food was average and the best part of the evening was the cheese. Really disappointed so many other better restaurants in Welly.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank War143
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
logie22, Owner at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed in several aspects of your dining experience.
Especially since we have very high standards of cleanliness and excellent systems to maintain them.
Still I appreciate your comments because it gives me, the owner, an opportunity to talk to my team and be sure standards of cleanliness are rigorously monitored.
Steve Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 949 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2016

We had bistro 3 course lunch at $45 a head on a cold August Friday, The day before the Hurricanes won their first Super Rugby title. This is great value for money and we highly recommend anyone visiting to enjoy this experience. Perfect use of an old National Bank building as well, if you think you will enjoy dining in a beautiful historical building

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank MrsQ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thanks for the amazing review on our $45 Bistro Menu. Glad you came to us before the game! We look forward to seeing you in the restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

It's the second time I've had the pre theatre dinner menu on a Saturday night. The menu has less choice but still three great selections to pick from for each course. The food is delicious and with three courses that are all of modest size you are full up but not stuffed. The service is impeccable which I really love and they have a great wine list to match. It is very reasonably priced at $45 per person (plus your drinks) and you still get the 'Logan Brown' experience. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes eating earlier and doesn't fancy the multiple course degustation menu. My favourite Wellington restaurant by far for ambience, food, service and value for money. Keep up the great work guys.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenloves2travel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thanks Jenloves2travel2014 for the great review on our $45 bistro menu. I will definitely pass on your great feedback to the team. We look forward to seeing you in the dining room again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We had the five course degustation with wine matching ($105pp or $155pp with wine matching). Each course was amazing, my favourite was the 'starter' of salmon tartare and the delicious white chocolate parfait dessert (with a million other sweet treat flavours on the side), but everything was so yum and the wines were also delicious. It was the perfect amount of food so that at the end we were just full enough. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and professional and we even got a quick kitchen tour as we were one of the last tables at the end of the evening. Beautiful building, handy location in central Wellington and definitely one of the city's best fine dining establishments.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cristy-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thanks Cristy-NZ for the amazing review. We are so glad you enjoyed you tasting menu with us. We look forward to seeing you in the restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Logan Brown is a special occasion place for us, but it need not be - the restaurant website offers a range of meal types, set menus and timings to suit people in a hurry to get to a show in Wellington, or with more time to savour the flavours of a 5-7 course tasting menu - with or without wine matches. We went on a Saturday evening and booked the 7 course tasting menu - costing us just over $400 to have wine matches for one, and pre-dinner drinks for two with the meal. In hindsight, we recommend having wine with the food - it adds ceremony and magic to the meal, combining carefully selected wine notes to match and connect up the precisely presented courses using the best ingredients and perfect French inspired techniques to deliver silky purees, sticky flavoursome jus, tender succulent beef and venison delicate pasta, herb butter sauces, and seafood (salmon, crab, prawns and paua) that zings tastes of the sea. The staff were well-trained, super-helpful and friendly and efficient, moving at pace and explaining each dish with care. My partner had some substitutions on his menu to avoid some ingredients, and he really enjoyed them. It was a special occasion treat for him and he really loved the whole experience. I made the mistake of being a driver (not taking a taxi) and not drinking alcohol - and as a result was more aware of the gaps between courses that would have not existed if I had a glass of the gorgeous wine my partner was drinking (I made sure to have a tiny sip of them all and they were exquisite choices). It is hard to find a fine dining restaurant in Wellington as good as Logan Brown, with more and more people eating out often and seeking cheaper venues. Logan Brown is special, and we should support it. The talent of the chefs and the passion of the staff is an experience not to be missed. I just wish I had better eyesight these days and could see the food in dimly lit areas that are common in restaurants - I am sure it would make my experience even more perfect.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Cosmo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thanks Cosmo132 for the great review! We are glad you come and dine with us on those special occasions! We look forward to seeing you in the restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Logan Brown also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Logan Brown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.