We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish and chips”

Wellington Trawling Sea Market
Ranked #268 of 1,081 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Got the lunch special - fish, chips and salad for $10. Really nice and great value. They also threw in a yummy potato fritter for free! Thanks guys :-)
Nice friendly staff and would definitely go back.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GourmetGabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Went to pick up a simple tea of fish and chips - I chose scallops, my daughter went for a hot dog. Meal was ready quicker than expected, despite being busy. Chips were great, and enough for the 2 of us. Scallops were large and juicy with a nice batter, and my daughter said her hot dog was good as well. Yum.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank rem868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Fresh fish cooked perfectly. Beautiful crispy chips, no grease, and possibly the best potato fritters I have ever eaten, although in Australia they would have been potato cakes.
Great spot

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Antony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We walked past here just before it was due to close at 8pm and they still cooked us fresh fish and chips to order which we took back to our motel. Some of the best fish and chips I have had. You can also pick anything from the fresh fish counter and they will cook it for you.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

They SELL FISH here!! Lots of fish! You can pick your own or have them use the “catch of the day” for batter or breading before frying. A meal comes with slaw and fries and all three of us were pleased with our selections.

“Informality” prevails - in every sense. You grab an empty table as you are able and you can “people watch” as others come in trying to figure out the system or ordering exactly what they want to take home for personal preparation. (Clearly, some people were “regulars”.)

There is NO alcohol served - so do your drinking before hand or after.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank pwesterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wellington Trawling Sea Market also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Wellington Trawling Sea Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing