We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
86
131
72
41
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
131
72
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews older hotel wooden panelling grand piano spa bath room service swimming pool room was spacious reception staff plenty of parking free wifi bars and restaurants new zealand worldly accommodation foyer conference couch
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very dated and in desperate need of some TLC. The room we had stunk to high heaven of ‘shake and vac’
or some other hideously strong odour which burnt my nasal passages out over night. So bad it was we had both windows and patio doors open trying to get rid of it until the traffic noise started early hours. The carpet wasn’t laid properly and there were large humps which you kept tripping over. Really poor - the only saving grace was the location as a really easy walk to Tauranga centre with free parking. Won’t be back :(

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank KiaOra31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmHotelMgr, General Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear KiaOra31
We appreciate your time and review.
We cannot find any similar feedback in our internal logs.
We regret that you did not engage with us during your stay.
We would have provided you with solutions and organised a room move if you were unsatisfied.
We cannot encourage our valued guests enough to make contact ASAP with Reception if any issue.
As per the "TLC" we are working on it and I am sure our valued followers will appreciate that the process takes some time.
Please do not hesitate to make contact with us should you wish to discuss further.
Sincerely
NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We had a pleasant room in the corner, overlooking the car park not the harbour but that was ok.The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed happy hour in the bar chatting with them. The hotel is a little dated but clean and comfortable. We also noticed that necessary repairs were being done in a timely way. Free Wifi worked fine.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmHotelMgr, General Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Brymick
Many thanks for staying with us.
We really appreciate your feedback.
We are working on the hotel renovations.
And we value your comments.
We are also very glad you enjoyed our service and happy hours.
Hope to see you again.
Warm regards
Nicolas Caffardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for work. Hands down worst place I've stayed in as I travel around NZ for work. Loud rugby players beat boxing outside my room kept me awake at 4am and then drunk people outside the room yelling after that. Cars can be heard driving past as close to the road. Dated decor. Needs an uplift. Needs to be demolished or rooms soundproofed.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Keaton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmHotelMgr, General Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Keaton D
Appreciate your time and feedback following your stay at Hotel Armitage.
We regret to hear that your stay was not as pleasant as it could have been.
We could have helped to make your experience better and more enjoyable.
We cannot recommend enough to our valued clientele to contact Reception ASAP when encountering any noise of disturbance as we will take immediate actions.
We will share your comments with the Hotel Owners and work on applicable items.
A full refurbishment is coming soon for Hotel Armitage.
Warm regards
NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

All the staff were so friendly and professional. We had a great time there. loved the heated pool. We were there with our 1 year old baby, and babies don't always agree to your plans. our little one fell and cut open his gums :( the hotel manager stopped everything he was doing and took us himself to his dentist. and all our stay he asked about the little guy and made sure we are having a great time. I work in hospo for 15 years and i know good service when i get it. highly recommended and will definitely go there again.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mashal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmHotelMgr, General Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Mashal M
It has been a real pleasure having you with us for few days.
We hope everyone is well.
Many thanks for such a lovely review.
This is really rewarding and encouraging for all of us.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Warm regards
Nicolas Caffardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

The hotel could use some renovation: it looks like walking along the hallways of the Shining hotel! That said, the price is correct, the rooms are big, the breakfast is good with an extremely smiley and helpful hostess.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmHotelMgr, General Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Elena P
Appreciate your honest feedback and constructive comments.
We are currently working on renovations and mock up room along with upgrading the public areas.
We are glad to read your great comments about service, staff and food.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Warm regards
NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews