We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Waimarino Adventure Park
from USD 91.20
More Info
from USD 30.90
More Info
from USD 73.70
More Info
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
426
77
9
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
77
9
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worms kayak tour mulled wine thermal pools crackers rock climbing tarzan swing new zealand lake mclaren night kayak beautiful lake full moon excellent guide unique experience great fun wairoa river hot springs
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is an amazing trip to see the glow worms at night a must when visiting the Bay of Plenty and NZ. Rates better than Waitomo by far.

Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaimarinoBOP, Front Office Manager at Waimarino Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the glow worms and our tour! Cheers, Rach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

was a bit worried as not used to kayaking but was absolutely fine, felt safe and looked after. wonderful evening; cheese wine great friendly tour guides, watched sunset by lake then kayaked to magical gorge and saw incredible glow worms.starlight and nearly full moon to return by.could not have been more perfect.

Thank Fliting4hens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaimarinoBOP, Front Office Manager at Waimarino Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

It is definitely a magical experience, and we are so happy you felt safe and enjoyed the tour! Cheers, Rach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We did the kayak and glow worm tour and my wife named it as her favourite tour of our holiday.

The guides were great, the kayaking is relatively easy and the glow worms are spectacular.

Make sure you add it to your next trip in Tauranga.

Thank jarrodob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaimarinoBOP, Front Office Manager at Waimarino Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for your awesome positive review! We are so glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed the tour :) Cheers, Rach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

A wonderful peaceful paddle on McLaren lake. Shaun was a competent and well organized guide who provided an entertaining commentary. Safety is a number one priority with this Waimarino group tour.. All necessary kayak skirts, fleece jackets and life jackets were provided. The glow worms were amazing and definitely a highlight of our one month trip to New Zealand.
Vancouverites

Thank Che_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaimarinoBOP, Front Office Manager at Waimarino Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are very pleased that you felt safe and enjoyed your time with us! Cheers, Rach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

It was chucking down with rain and it didn't stop all day (or night) but even that couldn't detract from the wonderful kayaking experience. Our guides (Emma and Sean?) were friendly and helpful. Due to the rotten weather we couldn't have our cheese and wine by the lake so these were set up indoors instead. Once we started kayaking we forgot all about the rain and the glow worms were simply amazing. Worst day of weather for us for 3 weeks yet this was the highlight of our holiday. Thanks so much everyone (for not cancelling as we had no time left to postpone). The experience was truly magical and we will definitely repeat it next time we come to NZ.

Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaimarinoBOP, Front Office Manager at Waimarino Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hi there, we are so pleased that you enjoyed this experience even with the unfortunate weather! Even better that this was the highlight of your holiday! We are looking forward to having you back, when you return. Cheers, Rach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews