We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place right on the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Cascades is just out of the town on the main road. It sits right on the lake, has its own small swimming pool and a variety of different room sizes to suit all.
It has changed hands since i was last there but the new owners are nice and approachable and the standards have not dropped.
We stayed in the small studio, which had a lovely double bed and big bathroom and a table to sit around for dinner. Even though this is there smallest room it still had cooking facilities and a fridge. Each apartment has its own parking.
There's a pc in reception, free for guests to use. There is wifi but you have to access it via a voucher which you get for free when you stay to the value of $5 worth of surfing.
Cascades is very comfy and relaxing and i believe good value for money. You can be straight out of your room and in to the lake for a swim in under a minute. Town is probably a 15 minute walk or a cheap taxi ride away. The pool is heated and is nice to relax in. They have a coin operated laundry for guests to use and also have bikes for hire.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasLodge, Owner at Cascades Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Hi wood1973, what a wonderful review, you covered the complex well, thank you so much. We are so pleased you had a good experience on returning to Comfort Inn Cascades, something probably you wonder when booking that everything will be good a second time.
Just to clarify, the wifi is given out in 50MB vouchers and when this is used you were welcome to come and get some more free of charge, apologies if we did not make this clear.
We hope your trip home was good and hopefully one day you can try us for a third time! Kindest regards Alister & Charlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 330 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

I love this place, it located right by Taupo lake with direct access.I had fun cycling around the bay.I hired bicycle to explorer the bay. It cost only 5dollar. The best service is it has complimentary wifi. ..we love it.
I also enjoyed a warm and friendly chat with operators of the Inn,Alister and Charlene.I strongly recommend the place to everyone who plan to visit Taupo

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mad_yahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasLodge, Owner at Cascades Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Hello mad_yahya, it was so neat to meet you and your family. What a great time you were having cycling around with your son. He had lots of great energy so you did well! The free wifi is very popular, we are glad that helped you enjoy your trip as I remember you were still running businesses at home. We hope to visit your country sometime. Thank you for staying with us and your wonderful interest in our country. Warmest regards Alister & Charlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I visited twice in about two months for business, and enjoyed my stay each time. The owners were very welcoming and open to the large group of people who I was staying with, and made every effort to make our stay more enjoyable. Is in a location where it is close to the lake and the perfect distance away from the main CBD.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isoskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasLodge, Owner at Cascades Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Hi Isoskim, thank you for the nice review. We are glad you found consistency with your stays whether you were with a group or on your own. Business or holiday we look forward to having you stay again. With appreciation, Alister & Charlene.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The owners were very helpful with activities and knowledge of the local area. Clean and comfortable rooms. Heated Pool right outside your door after a day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasLodge, Owner at Cascades Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Hello Emgas, we are glad you found us helpful, you obviously had a lovely time sightseeing around our beautiful region and were then able to come back and relax. Alister has a particularly good knowledge of travelling routes around the area having grown up and worked nearby.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope you are continuing to enjoy your travels. Kindest regards Alister and Charlene.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed in the loft. A good family apartment that sleeps six. The layout is little clunky but ok. Free wifi was a bonus. Good pool and the spa was hot. Great access to the lake front. Owners were friendly and helpful. Great trampoline for the kids and bikes to rent at a very reasonable cost. It was also very quiet being set back from the main road. City centre was only a five minute drive. Unfortunately the queen bed my wife and I shared was overly firm - it seems to be a common problem with NZ hotels and motels - I can only surmise they last longer if built from granite. A chain of motels offering comfortable beds would do well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyP888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasLodge, Owner at Cascades Lakefront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Hi JohnnyP888, thank you for your review. The Loft is an interesting space, as you say a good family apartment that is always thoroughly enjoyed by the kids. Kids think the mezzanine is 'cool'. We always keep The Loft rate at a reasonable family price for families, having had four children ourselves we know how expensive and hard it can be trying to find accommodation for larger families.
Sorry to hear you found the bed overly firm. We order all our beds as medium, middle of the range in firmness/softness. This area is such a personal thing that we have to go for something that will hopefully suit most people. We did ask the next few people who stayed in The Loft how they found the bed and they didn't seem to experience the same issue. We actually get complimented on our comfy beds but then again there is nothing like your own bed.
We are glad the family enjoyed our motel, the location, the tramp, bikes and free wifi. Thanks so much for staying. Kind regards Alister & Charlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,131 reviews
1.5 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 68 in Taupo
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.2 km away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades Lakefront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades Lakefront Motel

Address: 303 Lake Terrace | Two Mile Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Cascades Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#9 Business Hotel in Taupo
#10 Family Hotel in Taupo
#24 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $125 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades Lakefront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Cascades is proud to belong to the Choice Hotel Group. We accept Flybuys, Choice Privileges, Air New Zealand Airpoints, Qantas Frequent Flyer, Velocity. Stunning quiet location on the shores of Lake Taupo. Direct access to walk/cycle way (no roads to cross). Lakeside apartment for views and total rest and relaxation, studio units with some lake views, family rooms sleep up to 6 people and some have two bathrooms and 2 LCD TV's and/or a ensuite 2nd toilet. Heated outdoor pool, spa pool, Springfree trampoline, children's playhut, SKY TV, free wireless internet, cooked or continental breakfast available. Clean, warm, affordable and friendly accommodation. Small pets by arrangement. Lots of free parking for boats, trailers etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cascades Lakefront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cascades Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing