We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good stay with kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wairakei Resort Taupo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good stay with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Good price (rang / looked up a lot of places in Taupo first) for a good sized room with two queen beds (very comfortable). Fitted 2 adults and 2 kids well. Pool was great - kids loved it, as was the kids playground. Staff friendly and a BP Wildbean Cafe just across the road (for early morning coffee and muffins).

Only complaint is the expensive in room broadband.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishfish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    242
    104
    23
    12
See reviews for
181
179
15
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. Booked online just prior to starting the drive. Check in was the fastest I've ever had. Front desk staff were very helpfull. Our room (118) two large beds was perfect foe 2 adults and 2 kids.

The geothermal pool was open til 11pm, and then open from 6am. A great way to first relax, then wake up.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKiwiandACanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Its pretty much got everything here. Sauna, gym, spas, and heated outdoor pools for a late night dip. You can also walk the perimeter and take in the beauty of tui, bellbirds and hot springs flowing through the property.Some of it is a little dated but that just adds to the charm of such an historic place.The service is professional and the only small complaint I would have is the TV in the rooms are small and don't seem to be digital? But who needs Tv anyway.. The beds are super comfy and the linen is pristine.Would highly recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We booked this accommodation knowing it was a little out of town and for us that was part of the appeal. When making the reservation I requested a quiet room and happily that was what we got. The rooms are a bit dated but this is reflected in the very reasonable rate we paid. Our room was spotlessly clean, the grounds are well maintained and attractive, the staff friendly and helpful. We made use of the pools and playground but did not try the restaurants as we were happy to make the 5 minute drive into Taupo where there are lots of options. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibsy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

have stayed here few times for work meetings

pretty ordinary accommodation nothing fancy, a little run-down but not crappy

meeting rooms are good and spacious and well looked after through out the day

buffet meals are pretty ordinary and service is reasonable

Room Tip: keep in mind this place is quite a bit out of town, so if u were visiting taupo itself i would book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash_84nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
8.7 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
8.1 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
9.0 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
8.2 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
7.4 km away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#5 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Property: Wairakei Resort Taupo
Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price range (per night): $136 - $224
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing