We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Taupo Kayaking Adventures tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Taupo Kayaking Adventures
from USD 55.60
More Info
from USD 76.50
More Info
from USD 264.30
More Info
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
141
13
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
141
13
3
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maori carvings muffin break delicious muffins spending half a day mini adventure felt totally at ease great half day double kayak great morning great adventure kayak experience acacia bay guided tour rock face hot drinks nice trip life jackets
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I did the half day carvings tour. Tour was great, only made better by our guide, Corey. Being a local, Corey knew a lot about the area and the stories that go with it. He was polite and funny. We are so glad we did this trip.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Jacqui0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Owner at Taupo Kayaking Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi Jacqui! We are really happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed your trip with Corey! and we will definitely be passing on your comment to him! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We had a good time paddling on the lake Taupo with Morgan. Organized and professional, we even had a coffee break near the Maori carvings. We also learnt a lot about the area and the legends of the lake

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Owner at Taupo Kayaking Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Morgan is great! We have a great team, we pride ourselves as a company of having knowledgeable guides through our training program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

I really enjoyed this kayak tour taking us to the Moari rock carvings. Because they had several guides every couple could kinda kayak at their own speed which made it really comfortable for both the faster kayaks as well as the slower ones. On the way back we got the chanche to dive off a two-three meter rock before we docked for the break, which I really enjoyed. All in all a nice active day

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank KimvdHorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Owner at Taupo Kayaking Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Glad you had a good time! The rock is much bigger when you're on top.... Thanks for coming along!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We had a brilliant day kayaking with Andy and Ryan on the most beautiful sunny day. As total novices we were a bit nervous but it was an amazing experience and we felt totally at ease. The best way to get out on the lake and see the Maori Rock Carvings, plus they have the most delicious muffins which are reason enough to go out with these guys! We had a great day (made even better by using the kayak motor on the way home when we got too lazy) and would highly recommend

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Owner at Taupo Kayaking Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

The muffins are really amazing! As for the paddle we are so please we made you feel at ease! (The motor is always a fun bonus....) Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

When you kayak 5km to see the majestic Maori Rock Carvings, you’ve earned the opportunity to gaze at them in wonder. Everyone else is cheating.
Our guide was wonderfully informative and a great story teller. Kayaking on a lake amongst those surroundings with the sun gracing you, is an idyllic setting to hear old Maori myths and legends relevant to the lake.
A special mention: Our guide changed my life by bothering to teach me how to kayak properly. Instead of having to have a m numeral amount of will power to complete a kayaking activity during which I always struggle, just 5 minutes of tutoring from our guide changed my technique and made this experience something I could enjoy and focus on. There were no aching muscles to distract me.
The picnic on the way back feels so rewarding, and is quite scrumptious with a surprising variety of hot drinks available

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Aofaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Owner at Taupo Kayaking Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

This review is great! We like to earn our sights by paddling! So glad we could help you as well just to make you more graceful! Thanks for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews