We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great food, within wine cellar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vine Eatery & Bar

Vine Eatery & Bar
Ranked #13 of 128 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our talented chefs invite you to indulge in the dishes that have inspired our Mediterranean & NZ influenced menus. Our extensive tapas menu is designed to be shared, and we also offer a full a-la-carte menu for those wanting a more NZ traditional approach to dining. There's awesome Allpress coffee if you just want to relax and a full bar specializing in whisky, craft beer and a huge wine selection reflecting over 25 years in hospitality and wine Along with the many varying areas to enjoy, we have private areas such as 'The Balcony' and 'The Vintage Room' upstairs for groups of ten or more. Specialising in Long Table Shared Plate Dinners' makes Vine Eatery & Bar the perfect place for larger groups who are looking for something a little different and entertaining. For this we offer affordable $45 to $65 including a full tapa menu at $49. All options include dessert and can be paired with some great beverage options. For more casual gatherings we have some amazing platters full of fresh delicious meats, seafood and local produce. Open daily from 11am - Coffee by the fire, lunch, dinner or a drink and catch-up with friends, we look forward to hosting you soon.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, within wine cellar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a great idea- Scenic Cellars, a boutique wine shop where you can choose your wine at bottle-shop prices and have it opened at your table(with corkage charge) in the Vine Eatery, all in the same building. The atmosphere is very modern and upmarket and the food outstanding-tapas style sharing plates of very innovative food. We ate here both nights in Taupo as it was so good we had to return.On our second night we made sure we left room for dessert- the trio of pannacotta- licorice, coffee and kaffir lime-amazing!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ozrob63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    147
    59
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fresh, funky and fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Servers were welcoming and smartly presented. They were attentive, well-informed on the menu and wines and unobtrusive. The food was an eclectic mix of world food presented on sharing platters. The flavours were varied and distintive. It was fun to taste and copmpare. The atmosphere was positive and vibrant when we arrived to occupy the last table at 8pm (reserved earlier). We were last to leave at 10pm and although we were not pressured to leave we did and wished we could have stayed just a while longer. The whole experience was pleasant and memorable. The chef came over for a chat and was very entertaining and enthusiastic. Guests are encouraged to buy wine at the adjoining wine store (open plan) and we were pleasantly surprised to be asked to pay only one corkage charge.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jockswithoutkilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Go for the Paella Balls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stumbled upon this whilst waiting for the missus to finish her shopping nearby.They serve bigger sized tapas but smaller than mains - was how it was explained to us. We ordered the Aubergines ( with slow roasted tomatoes atop crostini with grilled haloumi ) from the menu and the snapper ( poached in sauvignon blanc ) from their daily special selection.
Both were good though the snapper was a wee bit overcooked. Feeling peckish ( since they recommend two dishes per person and we had shared two dishes between us ) we decided to try something else and enquired about the paella balls ( from their daily selection). The waitress strongly recommended it and she was spot on. The paella was filled with minced chicken and prawn and drenched in some delicious sauce ( we were too busy stuffing ourselves to bother identifying it ). The chef dropped by our table ( I guess because the waitress passed on our comment about the snapper ) and whilst chatting we learnt that he was from Brazil but of mixed Italian and Spanish heritage - the latter explains the tapas connection.
Good range of wines by the glass (from $5- $9 depending on full or tasting portion and which brand ). You can also buy a bottle from the cellar and consume in the restaurant ( for a small corkage charge ).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sengch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa Heads
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best in Taupo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We had two dinners there and had a great time tasting the great food and wines.Pork, Lamb and eel all outstanding. Met the Chef/Owner. A young guy and very motivated. You can see that with the food presentation and service. Hope the quality can last.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ozmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tapas with wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had spotted this place when we walked round Taupo earlier so we decided to go back for dinner. We didn't realise till we walked in that it served mainly Tapas dishes, however most aren't traditional spanish ones. When you walk in there are tables to the left, a bar in the middle and masses of wine shelves on the right.
The idea being that as well as the wine available on the menu, you can browse the shelves on the other side and choose a bottle from there which they will just add to your bill. To me this was excellent fun, trying to pick a wine to go with what we were about to order.
We sat down and knowing it was tapas decided to order 7 dishes between us. Big mistake the portions aren't as small as we get at home with Spanish tapas so after 2 dishes each we were stuffed silly.
for the record we ordered belly pork, paprika beef, warm avocado salad, gnoochi and aspargus, chicken and bacon balls and a bread dish.
Take the chicken balls for example they were as big as golf balls and considering we were only a couple they sent 3 out in that dish!
We normally have desserts when we eat out but were so full we couldn't fit any in and felt a bit bad in only eating half of some of the dishes as they were all very tasty.

Service by all the staff was excellent through out and the food arrived quickly. The place was busy but still seats were available. Not the cheapest restaurant but definitely worth a visit for a treat or for the massive wine choice.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vine Eatery & Bar also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Vine Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing