We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I would love to give over 10 stars if I can!!”
The Pheasant Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pheasant Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Pheasant Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Taupo, Taupo District, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
iimjamy
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I would love to give over 10 stars if I can!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Pep and Shaun are lovely lovely people, we stayed 2 nights there, as soon as we arrived, Pep asked us to give her the heaviest luggage and she would take it to our room,
it wasn't busy when the time we went so she even ask us to put our stuff in the other room and even said we can use the TV in the bigger room to get some more spaces.

To make us easier, she upgrade our bathroom the one closer to us, we had the welcome fruit and cookies, we were very tired when we got there but after we sitting at the window side and had a couple of tea with some snake we felt better soon.

Their three daughters would be one of the best part of our staying, they always try to help us to carry something or ask do we need anything they can do it for us, they made us so warm while our staying.

They let us to feed the lamb, introduce their dogs and asked us if we have dinner with them lol they are so cute.

We had hot breakfast for two mornings and that was absolutely beautiful food and made us feel so warm. Pep even remembered the second day was my birthday when we email each other to book the room before, so they prepare a surprise birthday greeting for me, little balloons, birthday card and a cute small cake.

We also had good chat with Pep and Shaun and we really enjoy the atmosphere there and very relax as well.

Bed was so comfy and the room, the shower, the decorated ...etc, everything just only warm and beautiful.

"Home away from home", I would love to go back to Taupo because of them but not because of Taupo itself lol.

The family make Minarapa Lodge becomes the best B&B I have never had!!!

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanne C
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a lovely and relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were welcomed by hosts Shaun and Pep (and their sweet daughters) to the Minarapa Lodge. Since we were on our honeymoon Pep upgrades us to the biggest room and give us a little bottle of champagne to celebrate, so sweet!
The room was great, nice comfortable bed, good shower and facilities. Their house and surrounding land (with sheep, dogs, horses and even a new born calf) is beautiful and even though it's a small drive from Taupo itself (approx. 10-15 min drive), we were very happy to stay there.
Pep gave us a great restaurant tip to go to in town.
Breakfast was lovely, we we provided with an easy early breakfast on the day we went hiking so that we could wake up very early and with a fully cooked breakfast the next day, yum!
Great stay!! "Home away from home" as someone said earlier, sounds like the perfect description for this B&B!

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan_Buu...
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

My wife and I left this wonderful bed and breakfast with the feeling that we were truly on our honeymoon. The family, the surroundings and and the atmosphere at this place is amazing. We highly recommend anyone to chose this place if you want maximum cosyness and friendly people. The house and it's beautiful interior decoration makes the stay something to remember.

Visit was for: Fritid
Travelling group: Par
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie P
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heavenly Minarapa”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I have to absolutely concur with all the positive reviews on Minarapa Lodge, the hosts, Pep and Shaun super. Lovely daughters. Spent a wonderful evening on the patio sharing a bottle of wine and talking. The guest room we stayed in was beautiful, with a very calming feeling and very tastefully decorated.

And Pep, if you read this review I should have really tried to sneak away the tubular bells in the hall!!!

Wouldn't hesitate to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2013
Hello to you! Thankyou for a wonderful review, we loved having you to stay with us. Have a very happy Easter!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuMarFlux
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“A true find...”
Reviewed 17 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

A short distance out of Taupo township this place is a true find. Hosted by Shaun and Pepper Bragg (& their 3 beautiful young daughters) this place feels like a 5 star lodge. Recently purchased by Shaun and Pepper they have wasted no time in updating the guest rooms and bathrooms into very tasteful accommodation. The setting is beautiful with a large rambling garden which includes a grass tennis court for the energetic. Their background in hospitality shows through (Shaun is a qualified Chef and Pep has exclusive lodge experience) so nothing is a problem when it comes to organising excursions or deciding on a breakfast or dinner menu. We had a great evening meal with another couple from Austria who were staying. The venison was superb. Hard to find any negatives but maybe if you don't enjoy friendly hosts, great food in a relaxed setting (not to mention value for money) then this might not be the place for you. Great for families and couples alike. This would also be a great setting for a wedding. Good luck for what we are sure will be a busy year ahead Shaun and Pep!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing