We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking on a clear day”
Review of Great Lake Taupo

Great Lake Taupo
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 19.99*
and up
Taupo Self-Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great place to bring overseas visitors. Mt Ruapehu is majestic at the best of times but just beautiful against the blue lake. lots to do and see.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank DaleD771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"lake taupo"
in 72 reviews
"trout fishing"
in 13 reviews
"black swans"
in 5 reviews
"acacia bay"
in 5 reviews
"new zealand"
in 19 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 4 reviews
"maori rock carvings"
in 6 reviews
"boat ride"
in 5 reviews
"ernest kemp"
in 5 reviews
"hot water"
in 4 reviews
"huka falls"
in 8 reviews
"ironman"
in 8 reviews
"picnic"
in 18 reviews
"shore"
in 12 reviews
"dusk"
in 4 reviews
"snow"
in 11 reviews
"township"
in 7 reviews
Filter

92 - 96 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Lake Taupo is so beautiful! There is so much to do. We did a kayak trip, took a helicopter ride, rode jet boats and ate meals overlooking the lake. Definitely worth checking out!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank chloelouise2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Looking down from the approach is breathtaking. Huge and humbling. Lots to do around the lake but you will need a car to reach everything, well worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank calnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I just LOVE swimming in Lake Taupo. I love the clear water. I love the view. I love that it's refreshing. I love the way the ducks swim up to say 'hello'.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Luv2C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Absolutely fresh around the lake. Clean environment. Not too busy. Water was extremely cold in December. Lovely area for a picnic.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank afzale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Lake Taupo also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Great Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing