We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Punehu Stream is at your doorstep This is an actual view of Mount Taranaki is from the gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Punehu Stream is at your doorstep
This is an actual view of Mount Taranaki is from the gardens
Punehu Cottage is on a working lavender farm
The main house of the lavender farm is a converted Dairy Factory. Its history dates to 1898
Opunake lake is nearby
Opunake coastline
Second bedroom with balcony view over living area and ensuite bathroom
Living room is spacious with access to main bedroom, kitchen and conservatory. It has a log fire.
Dining area overlooks the garden
The master bedroom has plenty of storage and access directly to the main bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
L F
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply Paradise”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

It's a rare thing these days to find accomodation that exceeds your expectations. We were all really looking forward to our visit to Punehu Stream cottage, and on arrival we couldn't have been happier. Liz has gone to great lengths to make her guests feel at home in this spacious, well appointed cottage. Set in the most beautiful gardens, with magical views of Mt Taranaki, and within an easy drive of other New Plymouth attractions, we felt like we were staying in our own private paradise. Hopefully we will return on day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FvdHPapam...
Papamoa
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Little piece of Paradise. What an amazing place.”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I would score this beautiful cottage a 9.5 out of 10 and would definitely stay again when I am in the area. It is spacious and secluded and the gardens are so amazing. The kids loved the stream and the pet eel. And also the chickens that came round every morning.

The cottage is warm and homely and very complete. Kitchen is lovely as well. Great layout and very comfortable. It has a great log fire which we didn't have to use because it was nice and warm. Bedrooms have plenty of storage. If you like your bed to be firm I would recommend the bedroom on the ground floor. If you like a softer mattress you could best sleep up stairs.

Liz is a super friendly host and makes a delish breakfast. Communication via email excellent.

Great location for day trips over the surf highway and mount Egmont.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the spacious place
Liked least: Bed on ground floor a bit too firm for my liking.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
Thanks so much I would love to have you and your family return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2011Marg
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay ”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a fantastic find on our North Island adventure. The cottage was relatively cheap by NZ standards so we pleasantly surprised. The cottage was attached to an old dairy which had been completely renovated. The host's house was at the opposite end of the dairy but joined by a courtyard. The property has the most beautiful gardens and stream and is a lavender farm and production facility. Liz, the host, was very welcoming and helpful. The cottage has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and fully equipped with everything you need for a great stay. The wood fire was an added bonus. It is an ideal location to explore Egmont and Mt Taranaki and is 45 minutes from Mt Plymouth. We wanted to stay longer and would highly recommend this as an amazing place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThisMumof...
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical treat set on an idyllic haven!”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved every moment at the Punehu Stream Cottage. Thank you for sharing your beautiful slice of paradise with us! The children look forward to seeing Fluffy, Apache, Belle, Thelma & Louise, and Neil the Eel again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thanks so much for your review. It was great to meet your family. The pets and I are all looking forward to your return visit here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALHEATH1
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantasic Stay with Warm and Friendly Host”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Punehu Stream cottage.. Liz is an amazing host and the dog, cat and chickens make you feel right at home. The breakfasts are fantastic and the ambience of the setting is wonderful! And the real bonus is being able to purchase lavender products made on site! Thank you Liz!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Thanks Heather. It was great to meet you all. I hope you can come and visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing