We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, welcoming, comfortable and good value”
Review of Carrington Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carrington Motel
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, welcoming, comfortable and good value”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I thought this place was great. If I'm being really picky, it is not brand spanking new in terms of decor but it is clean, and tidy and well furnished. I had a studio room with a double and a single bed. The room was large, with a table, a desk, chairs, and a kitchen area with toaster, kettle, fridge and microwave. The bathroom was clean and bright. The room was well lit - I cannot stand dingy dark rooms. It also faced towards the morning sun which was nice.

Tony was very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was reasonable value and a pretty decent amount of food provided - good as I was heading up the mountain,

It is about 5-7 minutes walk to the city centre, and in a nice quiet. location. Also close to the excellent Pukekura park.

Brilliant for $87 a night. I think this is the least I have paid in NZ for this sort of room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
25
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Travelling with my elderley Mother isn't always easy but Tony was so welcoming & professional & very kindly upgraded us to a larger room which was very much appreciated. The Carrington is excellent value for money & conveniently situated.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gokyo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carringtonmotel, Manager at Carrington Motel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to hear that you had a nice time in our motel and we hope to welcome you again soon. Have a lovely week! Regards Tony Kim Carrington Motel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This motel is EXACTLY what you're hoping for when funds are tight. Your room is not going to be outfitted with luxury furnishings, but it is spacious enough, spotlessly clean, and conscientiously maintained. Tony at the front desk (management) is refreshingly professional. There is area information galore in your room. Food cooked on the premises is available to be ordered for your room, if you need it. The location is a few minutes' awesome creekside walk from downtown, and quiet (at least when I was there).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carringtonmotel, Manager at Carrington Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
I´d like to thank you in the name of all employees for your review. Positive customer feedback is very important for us as it shows that we are doing the right thing. We are glad that you were satisfied with the services we provide. We hope to accommodate you again in our motel soon. Regards Tony Kim Carrington motel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

The Carrington is great value for money and though it's a little old and dated it was clean and tidy. Jennie and Brett who manage the motel were very helpful and friendly. The room was serviced every day. The Motel is a short walk into the heart of New Plymouth which can be done along the river. New Plymouth has a lot to offer but our favourite was the 7km Coastal Walk, only 15 minutes from the Motel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aged_Travellers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carringtonmotel, Manager at Carrington Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to hear that you had a nice time in our motel and we hope to welcome you again soon. Have a lovely week! Regards Tony Kim Carrington Motel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2009

My family and I stayed for a weekend to visit relatives and have a break. Our family unit was adequate for our needs. The decor is older probably the 80's. It needs modernising and to have higher cleanliness. The complaint we have with the room was that the bed spread was old and dirty.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carringtonmotel, Manager at Carrington Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
We appreciate the time you took to write the review of your stay in our motel. We are new management team in Carrington Motel and are very sorry to hear that room was not clean enough when you stayed here. We replaced all the bedspread, linens, towel and updated décor in rooms when we started here. Therefore we can assure when you come next time you will be satisfied with cleanliness. Hope we can see you again and have a lovely week. Kind regards Tony Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.9 km away
Braemar Motor Inn
Braemar Motor Inn
#27 of 30 in New Plymouth
64 reviews
0.9 km away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
41 reviews
1.7 km away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 30 in New Plymouth
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Coronation Court Motel
Coronation Court Motel
#28 of 30 in New Plymouth
42 reviews
1.2 km away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
1.6 km away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#10 of 30 in New Plymouth
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Motel

Property: Carrington Motel
Address: 61 Carrington Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price range (per night): $85 - $151
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to city centre, TSB Stadium, Pukekura Park, Bowl of Brooklands, Outdoor BBQ area High Speed Wifi available, Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing