We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coronation Court Motel
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
BOP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Value for money”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This is one of the older motels in New Plymouth but it is very clean, tidy and and has all the ammenities you need. It has zenbu wi-fi (first 50mg free then absolutely minimal cost after that), it was fully self contained and you can order breakfast if you want it. It may not have all the fancy-schmancy luxury toiletries the other places have but it does have the fluffiest towels I have had in a motel for a long time. And if paying $89 and missing out on some motel shampoo is the only negative, it's a total no-brainer! Would recommend, and would stay again. The breakfast is yummy too, by the way :0)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    23
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
15
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
queenstown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Very old and dated motel, no hair dryer, only 3 sets of everything (cutlery) yes we stayed as 3 people but some people might use more then 1 spoon in 2 days don't you think. Tried to have a cup of tea in the moring, horrible taste I think even budget tea tastes better. Everything was very budget and old. The hosts were a nice old couple but we saw some people pulling up chatting to some friends that were staying in the same motel & the friends of the people were growled off by the owner for parking at the front of the motel. Seemed a bit mean and unprofessional and I doubt of the front road of the motel is your property if someone wants to pull over and have a chat then that shouldn't be of your consern. Also had a few long black hairs floating on the edges of the bathroom sink yuck, and please deodorise your closets as they smelt of old musky body odour.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happybumbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Plymouth hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed with my partner here for 3 days and we really enjoyed our time here. We booked a large studio and it was very clean, in good shape and we even had a balcony. The studio consisted of a fully equiped kitchen, one queen bed that was very comfy and an extra single bed that we did only use to place our staff on it:-). The carpet in our room was one of the cleanest we have ever seen compared to other Motels and was probably quite new.

After travelling over 6 months around the world and staying in hundred of different places, we must say that the hospitality here was outstanding! Fi and Ian were helping us whenever we needed some information, help in transportion and were always there for a little chat!

The Motel is approx. 2 kilometers away from the town center but with a car it is only a couple of minutes to get there. There is a wonderful park just around the corner which we definitely recommend to have a walk at. The Motel is also a good place to stay when you plan to climb Mount Taranaki/Egmont in one day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmBeachSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikanae, Lower North Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We just spent several days in New Plymouth at the Coronation Court Motel for the college sports championships for the Lower North Island, New Zealand.

It isn't a 5-start hotel but the reasonable rates reflect that. Coronation Court hosts Ian and Fi have done a wonderful job providing clean, comfortable and quiet accomodation. They are nice people too.

Since taking over management of the motel in early 2008 Ian and Fi have been upgrading the rooms. Our's was just right with plenty of room for our party of five. Everything in the room worked i.e. no broken furniture, leaky faucets, burned out light bulbs etc and there was no noise from the adjoining rooms (even though we had a soccer team on one side and a rugby team on the other). Rooms were clean and tidy and beds were very comfortable. Dial-up internet access worked fine and was surprisingly cheap.

The location, while not on the beach is actually very good. The motel is one minute walk to the Pukekura Racecourse (horse racing) and just beyond that is Brooklands Park and the TSB Arena where the Taranaki National Basketball Team plays.

We'll not hesitate to stay at the Coronation Court next time we are in New Plymouth. Well done Ian and FI!

  • Liked — Clean/comfortable/quiet - Mostly though, knew the hosts were very eager to please
  • Disliked — Nothing really. It isn't a 5-star hotel but not paying for that either.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DLShaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonthaburi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2006

I live in a double room. Facilities are ok. The room is quite small. They welcome those who belong pets which I do not prefer that.

The location is a little far from the city center. There are sevaral motel nearer. Since I travel by car, there is a little problem with this subject. The coronation street is one of the main street heading to a city center.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank noiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.8 km away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
41 reviews
2.4 km away
Braemar Motor Inn
Braemar Motor Inn
#27 of 30 in New Plymouth
64 reviews
1.1 km away
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
#20 of 30 in New Plymouth
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
1.5 km away
Carrington Motel
Carrington Motel
#30 of 30 in New Plymouth
64 reviews
0.8 km away
Pukekura Motor Lodge
Pukekura Motor Lodge
#16 of 30 in New Plymouth
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronation Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Court Motel

Property: Coronation Court Motel
Address: 226 Coronation Avenue, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price range (per night): $82 - $110
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coronation Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coronation Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing