We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great homely atmosphere with flavoursome Indonesian food”

Volcanoview Restaurant
Ranked #76 of 195 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: USD 7 - USD 20
Cuisines: Dutch, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Volcanoview Restaurant established 26 January 2011. Friendly priced family restaurant with table service. No need to order at the bar, we come to you. Our food is healthy. Most of the dishes are gluten free, we grow our own lettuce, vegetables, capsicums, bake our own cakes, buns, bread, make our own beef/fish/veggie burger patties and all our sauces. So we know that what we serve is good healthy food. Further we cater for weddings, parties, work do's, functions, funerals, you name it. Average cost for a dinner buffet is $ 37,50 per head. Everyone can use the free pedal carts.Three flying foxes are all located on a private property. If you stick to the rules, nothing is likely to happen. Apart from the restaurant we offer camp ground, cabin and B&B facilities. All reasonable priced and the awesome views of Mt Taranaki are totally free of charge. Hope to see you soon.
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Joep, the chef and owner served us a delicious spread of Indonesian food for our family group of 7 whilst we gazed out on the last of the setting sun on Mt Taranaki. The views of ‘our’ majestic mountain are stunning from every table in this barn-like structure.

Decorated with numerous artefacts of a bygone era, including old wood or coal-fired stoves to logging hand-saws and a wooden butter churn, the interior of this restaurant has much of interest. This family who run the restaurant are warm and welcoming, engaging with you from the moment you step in the door. With very reasonable pricing, excellent wines (including Arrogant Frog) and truly delicious food with homely hospitality, all in our party vowed to return to this unpretentious venue. It is off the beaten track and bookings are essential for the evenings, but well worth the drive.

For the record, we spent 2 hours over our meal. We had a starter of chicken broth, clear and tasty with slivers of spring onions. The mains comprised of numerous dishes to share -vegetarian, 2 beef (Rendang & another spicy beef dish), seafood, chicken and pork with numerous sides. There were bowls of white and fried rice, whilst the sides included fried banana, fruit relish, peanut and coconut topping, tomato relish and numerous others (probably around 10). It was rounded off with a pancake served with coconut, ice cream and cream.

Joep intentionally serves all dishes to cater for the mild Kiwi palate but you can add your own level of heat from the sambal supplied. It also means you get to savour the unique flavours of each dish (the pork done with ginger was our group favourite).

The others enjoyed their coffees but I finished with my personal favourite, a hot chocolate with a touch of rum. Yum!

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank KeithFromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Awesome food, fantastic hosts. Thanks for an awesome evening. We had the Indonesian foods, omg so yummy.... other dishes available

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank debh808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely little cafe restaurant out in the sticks with amazing views of Mt Taranaki! Excellent burgers and great facilities for the kids could have stayed there all day! Friendly service and nice log fire to keep you warm! Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank mike_maxim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

While we have visited Volcano View very regularly, we now enjoyed a new specialty, a Dutch "Rijsttafel" or "Rice Table". As you can see from the photos below, a wide variety of dishes, with different types of meats, spices, veges, fruits and krupuk! Each dish was delicious, not too spicy and very tender. Quality food, quality setting and quality company :).

Very friendly staff and a nice atmosphere during these darker winter months....

Can recommend to anybody with a taste for quality food!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We read about third place in a magazine and it lived up to the recommendation. The staff were so friendly and service was so quick. Lovely environment surrounded by beautiful farm land. Heaps of great toys for kids. Food was perfect for a cold, wet day - with lots of flavour and all home made. Would go back in a heart beat

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 845sarahlou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joep123456, Owner at Volcanoview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thanks for your friendly review. It is always great to read that we made some people happy, because that is the whole purpose of running a restaurant. Hope you will be back one day and then enjoy the new menu. During the day it will be a mix of traditional Dutch and Kiwi food and at night we will focus on the Dutch-Indonesian kitchen and serve basic tasty rijstafel.

Best regards

Joep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volcanoview Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Volcanoview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing