We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
59
40
16
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
40
16
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heated swimming pool walking distance bedroom unit free wifi across the road an easy walk close to town spa motel kitchen plymouth amenities countdown host
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Lovely staff very accomodating. Huge rooms loads of space for the family. Slightly dated but that's good when you have kids running around. Comfy beds, Nice clean indoor pool and spa for kids. Location fantastic, walk to shops beach restaurants.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mtabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Paul and Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Really impressed with the size of the room we booked for 1 night. It was very clean & the kids loved the spa bath. Good water pressure for the shower. The bed could have been more comfortable but we were only there for one night so not too worried about that.
The heated swimming pool & spa pool in was a hit for both the whole family.
We'll stay there again when visiting New Plymouth.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Me and my family stayed there for a night last week and here's some opinions and experiences I have about this place:

Pros:
1. Location location location!. At the main road so it is super easy to find. 24hrs McDonald, supermarket, gas stations just across the road. You could find something to eat no matter when.
2. Very friendly staffs
3. Free unlimited WiFi

Cons:
1. Property is bit old. Definitely needs attention. Shower head fell off, so was the bar of towel holder. No air conditioning but electric fan only so my family could hardly sleep while the room temperature was so high. The main sliding door might need some WD40 as it made squeaky noise when open.
2. One of the main reasons I booked this was because they have a bath so that I could give my 1-year-old a bath after daytime activities. Yes they have that in the toilet but it was a bit misleading while the bath is only the bottom part of the small shower box with a higher side wall. My 1-year-old? Yes. An fully grown adult try to get in? No way.
3. I wish they could extend the open time of their swimming pool and spa. I was thinking to use it at about 11pm after all activities then realized they closed at 9pm.
4. That was the first time an insect (I believe it was an ant) got into my ear while I was sleeping while staying here. It scared me heaps as it made a lot of noise and some itchy feeling inside my ear. Luckily I finally got that out of my ear by jumping around and shaking my head. This might not totally be this motel's fault as I saw ant everywhere in New Plymouth but I think this part of the hygienes in the room could still be improve a little bit because I saw some ant walking around on the chair during the day time already.

Conclusion: I could go back there again only if the price is cheaper and/or other places are fully booked.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tokutoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of December and although a little dated this motel is spotless and clean. The lady at a Reception was just so knowledgeable and helpful. We extended our stay another couple of days So recommend to anyone wishing good priced accomodation
. Pool was great. Unit was quiet

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Su M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Amber Court Motel. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

We booked this motel because the pictures implied there was a sea view from the property. This was definitely not the case. The motel itself was reasonably spacious,but smelt musty and unused. It was very dated, and the ants in the kitchen were a problem. There was a can of fly spray but it was empty! The traffic noise was bad. Best advice if you have to stay there, don’t pick a Saturday. The boy racers don’t give it a rest.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank 308missy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I'm unsure of what images you saw as non of our images show sea views. We have recently embarked on a programme for ant eradication, but this is an ongoing issue. We trust you have a wonderful Christmas and apologies for the disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews