We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - not sure what's Historic!"”

Pig and Whistle Historic Pub
Ranked #15 of 229 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Centrally located in a classic piece of bold 1940's architecture, the Pig & Whistle is a local landmark with a great history. Our friendly staff will make your visit one you'll want to repeat. Monteith's, Heineken, Tiger, Erdinger & Black Dog as well as three Ciders on tap, a fantastic range of New Zealand wines. Our pub menu includes favourites like Seafood Chowder, New Zealand Lamb Salad and Pork Spare Ribs and we cater to children also. And there are our world famous piggy fries! Our Snack Menu is available from 11.30am till Close, 7 Days a week and we have a great selection of desserts. The Pig & Whistle has live bands every Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Find out the up and coming bands on our Entertainment page. And we have big screen Hi Definition Sky Digital TV - catch your favourite sports on one of the big screens.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK - not sure what's Historic!"”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

OK food and service - had a look as had read mixed reviews and we were staying around the corner! It's on the Lonely Planet tour of Rotorua so while the girls were on the Polnesian Spa I did the walking tour. Worth a stop but nothing to write home about!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ITGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg_Brown, Owner at Pig and Whistle Historic Pub, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Historic = The building and its history. "The new building produces a humorous side to life in the Thermal Regions, being the most imposing building in the main street, it had previously been mistaken by visitors as a Library, the Post Office, a Bank, the Tourist Office, and even one Sunday, as a place of worship. No one has yet mistaken it for a Pub” – New Zealand Police Journal, December 1940.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    505
    136
    43
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming!”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was great!

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg_Brown, Owner at Pig and Whistle Historic Pub, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
This is exactly what we set out to achieve when we redecorated last year. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big, big meals, family friendly”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Plenty of space in the beer garden for meals and child friendly. All meals served were excellent, big and excellent. Will be back

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg_Brown, Owner at Pig and Whistle Historic Pub, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Two things that we hope set us apart. Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok but bit over rated”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

It was okay- mock English pub, very average pub style food, bit pricey, adequate service and so so waiting/bar staff

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr-Jenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg_Brown, Owner at Pig and Whistle Historic Pub, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Mock English Pub? We set out to be a New Zealand Pub but recognize pubs are English so keep a bit of the flavor. Is that wrong? We recognize the need to lift the standard of the food. We are thinking the current menu sets expectations very high and is ambitious. We are sure the 2012 winter menu will be an improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the worst meals I have had the misfortune to eat”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Went to the Pig and Whistle which looked good and had positive feedback and a recommendation from the hostess at our accommodation. It turned out to be a disappointing evening. We ordered the Scotch Fillet Steak. It arrived on top of a plate full of curly fries ( not order or stated in the menu) and a plate of unmixed salad. My wife does not eat curly fries and had to request that they remove her plate and return it without the curly fries and to provide proper fries.

My wife is Scottish and to say this is scotch fillet is wild misrepresentation!! The steak was at best rib-eye. The entire meal was tasteless. This is not an idle criticism as we have been travelling for the past 6 months and have enjoyed fabulous food in many countries. This rates as nearly the worst meal we have eaten in our entire travels.

However if you want a great selection of NZ wine and a substantial measure this is the place for you. Drink heartily here but eat elsewhere first!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda_B53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg_Brown, Owner at Pig and Whistle Historic Pub, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Where do we start with this - not sure. The menu states Seasonal Vegetable OR Fries and Salad. You do get the choice but the reviewer is right in staying we dont specify Curly Fires - we need to fix that. According to our City of Guilds English Chef - Scotch Fillet and rib Eye are the same. Who's right? We are incredibly disappointed to receive a review like this. We apologize and visitors SHOULD expect better, no question.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pig and Whistle Historic Pub also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Pig and Whistle Historic Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing