We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous property”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fabulous property”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We loved the lodge and especially the gracious hosts. Fred, Alex, Jenna and Charlie could not have been nicer. I am an avid organic cook, and Charlie spent time showing me his organic garden and giving me tips to bring back to my home. The food was wonderful and it is nice to stay outside of Rotorua.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellady2531310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamuranal, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Kia Ora all the way to Phoenix to you, thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure for the team and Host Chef Charlie to spend time sharing his passion and commitment to organic, real, fresh food on a plate. Looking forward to your return to Rotorua soon, Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    43
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
275
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had an excellent stay at Hamurana Lodge, made even more special by booking the 'Sail Away' package, which included a 3hr Catamaran trip around Lake Roititi.

Jenna was the perfect host, always there to offer you a drink or to help with your stay. It was like being welcomed home, into the most comfortable and high quality country estate.

We loved the animals dotted around the estate and were delighted to hear most had been rescued and now had a lovely life - great to wander round and visit if you wanted to but certainly not overly evident if you didn't.

The food was excellent and I have to say Charlie is one talented chef. Cannot fault anything he served us - truly 1st class.

Overall we had a lovely 2 days and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Rotorua - it was a little piece of class in what we felt was a bit of a motel-location.

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the downstairs room which was beautifully appointed but just a little noisy because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We really enjoyed Rotorua and Hamurana Lodge contributed to this greatly. The lodge is a 15-20 min drive out of Rotorua centre (which is no bad thing) but very close to the lake and 5 min drive away from Hamurana Springs which is a spectacularly beautiful walk.
The attention and service we got from the lodge, especially Jenna, Alex, Charlie and Sebastian were fantastic. The restaurant is first class.
Despite Rotorua town centre being a slight let down (compared to the rest of NZ), Rotorua is a must-see in the North Island and Hamurana Lodge is THE place to stay.
Peter & Carol Campbell UK.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamuranal, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Kia Ora Carol&Peter, a real pleasure to read your feedbacks and wonderful comments. The team was delighted to let you indulge and relax in our estate and we are happy to read that you felt totally at ease. Our new products over the year will no doubt enchant you more and you will have to visit soon, warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

At the very beginning of this year my parents and I visited Rotorua as the last leg of a two-week tour of New Zealand. Rotorua is a very quaint place though what made the last three nights of our trip magic was staying at Hamurana Lodge. Being a very frequent traveler, I rarely get excited about a hotel. Arriving at Hamurana is like living a dream, the manicured gardens and the driveway make you feel special, welcome and without a doubt, this hotel provided me with the best sense of arrival ever. The lodge is simply beautiful, cozy, elegant and yet relaxed. You feel equally at ease in shorts as you would in a tux! The rooms we rented were exquisitely furnished, comfortable and very spacious. What more? The food was divine and the well selected wine selection most impressive. Goes without saying that the magic of Hamurana Lodge would not exist without the presence of the two owners: Alex and Fred - marvelous hosts that manage to combine professional and amiability at the same time! I am looking forward to my next visit to Paradise!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nevius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I wasn't sure if I would enjoy Rotorua. "Pooey!" said more than one friend, in reference to the sometimes-sulfurous geothermal parks which are a major attraction of the area. Nonetheless, we had a very enjoyable few days here, and a lot of that was to do with our choice of accommodation: the Hamurana Lodge. Hamurana is outside the main town of Rotorua, set in large grounds dotted with plantings, borders and quirky, clever and humorous sculptures. The building itself is sort of reproduction Victorian, with a large central staircase and lots of spacious common rooms to lounge around in. We were the only guests and our children had the run of the place - we enjoyed the gym, the wii room, the billiards room especially. Our hosts were very attentive and kind, full of advice when it was wanted and always ready to offer us a drink or other refreshment when we returned from our adventures or took up residence in one of the common rooms. The Hamurana has a full service restaurant and the food is especially fine. I really do recommend dinner here even if you choose to stay somewhere else. My husband was full of praise for the eggs at breakfast, which he says were the best he'd ever tasted. They were certanly the freshest - Hamurana keeps its own free range chickens and the staff go on careful egg hunts throughout the grounds each morning. One mild criticism is that I found the food a tiny bit heavy at times, although unfailingly delicious, so perhaps a few offerings for those with smaller appetites? We went on long nature walks, explored all the geothermal parks, where bubbling pools of muck had marvellous names such as "Devil's Cauldron," and were delightfully tourist trapped by the local Maori evening, where the children especially enjoyed the cultural presentation and dancing, and mum especially enjoyed the delicious barbecued food! There is also a good museum in Rotorua. We did not do zorbing (google it) but supposedly this is fun. The staff at Hamurana were very helpful in helping us choose activities. Generally they are deserving of kudos for their level of service. I also recommend getting a massage at the spa - the masseuse is amazing. It vied for the best massage I have ever experienced, holding joint first place with one I received at the Uma Paro in Bhutan. The only reason I could not give absolutely full marks is that the quality of the rooms and bathrooms slightly let down the experience. They were a bit fusty and dated and generally in need of a makeover, and the bathrooms had cheap fixtures and fittings. However it was all quite spacious, so it really depends what is important to you. Overall, I highly recommend the Hamurana. When we were picked up for the Maori evening, a lady in the tourist van remarked with affable envy, "why didn't WE know about this place??" Maybe Hamurana needs to raise its profile, as it certainly deserves the attention.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank beauchamptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
11.0 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
10.4 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
7.3 km away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
19.8 km away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
181 reviews
20.9 km away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price range (per night): $192 - $528
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing