We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best motel of our holiday”
Review of Aywon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aywon Motel
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Coromandel New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best motel of our holiday”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The unit was spotless and the bed very comfy.
The plunger and fresh coffee were appreciated after our walk in the redwood forest from the motel.
The private spa was fantastic with luxurious bathrobes provided.
The manager and staff were friendly and informative and helped to get the most out of our visit to Rotorua.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchkiwi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    17
    3
    10
See reviews for
29
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Had a great stay.
Booked this place for a group of young adults going to a music concert. We booked a family room with two bedrooms.
The lady at reception was very nice, very helpful, very informative about the events in Rotorua. We checked very late on our arrival date, but she was very accomodating and helpful.
The motel is on a nice quiet street, off the main road (Fenton St), but the main road is visible from the motel entrance and our room, as the motel is directly across from a park, so it was a quick walk to the main road.
The room was very nice but smaller than what I had perceived from pictures on the website, but that was ok because the place was nice and clean. As there was a private spa in the room, there were plenty of towels, which were exactly what the website states, big & fluffly. And the towels were replaced daily, the rooms were serviced daily. The bathroom was a good size and the shower cubicle was very spacious.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We recently stayed at the Aywon Motel, Rotorua for two nights for a short family break. We booked a two bedroom unit which comprised of kitchen/lounge area and bathroom/private spa pool downstairs and two separate bedrooms upstairs. We have two boys aged 6 & 10 years and having the separate bedroom was very beneficial. There was three single beds in the boys room which was quite spacious and ideal for families. There was also an internal wardrobe for hanging clothes. Our bedroom had a double bed and also internal wardbrobe. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable. The spa private spa pool was great however a little hot ! Parents need to check spa temperature before letting children use it. It can easily be cooled with a cold water tap. The only thing to let this unit down was the kitchen facilities. They were very old and needed replacing. Indeed the owners who are very friendly explained to us that they were in the process of refurbishing the family units, probably in july 09'. The one bedroom units have already been refurbished and they looked realy great. Overall we would use this motel again once the two bedroom units have been refurbished. It is in a good position, one street back from the main Fenton Street and opposite is a large area of grass which was great for the kids to play on. Kids took there bikes and we felt they were safe cycling on the surrounding streets, which is not always ideal when you stay on the very busy Fenton Street motels. Staff and owners were very friendly. We have been to several motels in Rotorua and we would consider using this again.

  • Liked — Two separate bedrooms
  • Disliked — Kitchen facilities
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

We are a family of visiting Malaysian tourist to NZ with an 8 year old daughter. This hotel management reported to the police on us to say that we stole their bed-spread when in fact it was in the closet. They have my mobile number and address but they choose to go to their files and get the license plate of my rental car and provided that to the police.

We choose not to use the bed-spread in addition to the blanket so we folded it and stored it in the closet like all other times we have done in hotels all over the world.

We were contacted by our rental car agency and we returned to Aywon to find out what happened. We found the bed-spread in the closet where we left it. While the lady was apologetic her husband was an arrogant man who said and I quote "I don't care what you do any where else in the world, here you should inform me that you stored the bed-spread in the closet!!!!!!!" At least the wife was reasonable and told him to shut-up as they were wrong.

Obviously, they do not do proper cleaning of the rooms, how else could they not find the bed-spread in the closet. Why do they not call me when they have my mobile number instead of the police? Why would anyone want to steal a bed-spread from a motel?

I was lucky that I found out about this before I was at the airport for my flight home. Imagine what happens when the police stop me for this at the airport, I would have most likely miss my flight or worst end up in the Auckland jail.

  • Liked — Seeing it in the rear view mirror of my car.
  • Disliked — The people that runs this motel.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MalaysianT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

This was our third visit in as many months to Rotorua with a mixed senior sports team. The welcome was very friendly and we had a total of four units between us. Two two storeyed ones out front and two inner units. I shared one of the two front units, with their own private indoor spa pools. Two storeyed accomodation with a double bedroom and a bedroom with three single beds upstairs. Also a bed settee downstairs in the lounge/kitchen, effectivey sleeping seven or five persons not in an intimate relationship.... One of our ladies wasn't too warm or comfortable on the bed settee in the ientical unit next door, and the proprietor kindly moved her to a spare unit for the second night - without extra charge. Much appreciated.

The lady explained that as they were not on the "free" thermal hot water, (to preserve the pressure of the nearby thermal geyserland area) if we would kindly switch off the radiators if out for the evening, to save costs, she would turn them on about an hour before we were due to return to warm them up. Fair enough and very thoughtful.

The in house spa pools were large enough to accommodate 4 or 5 people and we asked if they could be heated up a wee bit the next day - and this was done. The public spa pool was used by one couple and they were happy enough with it.

My double bed was comfortable enough (on my own) but as a tall person, I was glad I wasn't in one of the small singles! (One of the advantages of arriving early... ) There was no problem with noise from outside - always a bonus and we'd happily stay again

The location is away from the twn centre but almost across the road from the large and small golf courses and just a stone's throw from the large thermal area.

  • Liked — Friendly welcome and general location, undisturbed sleep.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socram13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 km away
Birchwood Spa Motel
Birchwood Spa Motel
#79 of 92 in Rotorua
95 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
0.7 km away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Pohutu Lodge
Pohutu Lodge
#23 of 58 in Rotorua
73 reviews
0.4 km away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#56 of 92 in Rotorua
78 reviews
0.1 km away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aywon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aywon Motel

Property: Aywon Motel
Address: 18-20 Trigg Avenue | Fenton Park, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price range (per night): $97 - $158
Hotel Class:4 star — Aywon Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aywon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aywon Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing