We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quaint motel”
Review of Fernleaf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fernleaf Motel
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

We were the only ones there in the motel, and were delighted with huh the facilities - there was a geothermal hot pool, heated swimming pool as well! Cars were parked right in front of our room so it was really convenient, and the hosts were very nice as well. It's also a 3 min drive to countdown so everything was good. Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Joni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherieandWillie, Owner at Fernleaf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you for your amazing review!
So glad you had a good experience here in this amazing city.
Was so nice to meet you!

Kind Regards
Cherie & Willie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

The good - there is a swimming pool, and even better there is a private hot mineral pool. The owner was quick to put right a broken bulb.

The average - the room we were in was next to the laundry and had little natural light. We would have preferred one of the other rooms. The property is a little away from the action, so you really want your own transport.

The not-so-good - the parking is very tight, particularly with a larger car; we were expecting the room to be serviced, but that didn’t happen. The owner was easy to find... he was always in the pool drinking (beer, not the pool) so at the end of the day he wasn’t making much sense. But he is a nice guy.

A bit of a mixed bag

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Grembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherieandWillie, Owner at Fernleaf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you for your review.
Unfortunate you did not book a bigger room.
Full service is available on request as the cleaners do not like entering occupied rooms where personal belongings are kept.
However, when requested I am more than happy to do this myself.
I was back from my business date at 5.30pm and wish you had have spoke to me about the pool situation.
I am so glad you enjoyed the pools, as geothermal is not available at all motels.
I do trust that you enjoyed Rotorua itself though, as it is a very special place.

Kind Regards
Cherie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed there for a few days and we had an awesome stay. The room was actually more like a spacious studio with a really big living room. It was well heated, which we really appreciated as it can get cold these days. Everything was super clean, the place was serviced everyday, there is also a heated swimming pool and a hot pool. The area is very quiet and it s also a great location as it s a 5 min walk to countdown supermarket, 10min to the city centre and 15 to the iSite visitor centre. I definitely recommend this place and would like to thank the owners again for everything.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lotus_Wasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We stayed here as our first stop on our Lions Rugby trip. The accommodation was very good and as described, it had its own spa pool which was great for getting rid of the aches and pains after our 27 hour flight to Auckland and drive down to Rotorua. Everything was spotless and the apartment had all the facilities we required, big rooms, comfy beds, cooking facilities, tv and very friendly, helpful staff. It is an easy walk to the town centre and the only drawback was the smell of the hot springs which is what you go to Rotorua for anyway.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank davideveritt159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Owner at Fernleaf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for your reveiw , we are gald you had a great time in NZ , especially our wonderful city Rotorua , yes the smell is not for every one , but that is the price for all the thermal wonderlands and hot pools , hope to see you back in NZ sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We’ve booked the Standard Family Unit 2 since the smaller units were sold out and we were pleasantly surprised for our 3 nights stay.!
Super spacious, well-equipped kitchen facilities and I must say, I really love their bathroom.!
We were there during the start of winter and it gets chilly at night. Thank god for their good heaters in the unit, there’s a heater in the bathroom as well.! This is the only accommodation where I can shower without shivering in cold after turning off the hot water.
Good wifi strength and TV with Netflix available to keep us entertained since shops closes early during winter.

Laundry and dryer room available and 1st wash of the laundry is complimentary.!
Left our clothes in the heater room overnight (It’s locked after 10pm I think and opens in the morning) and got our clothes back dried and clean.
Didn’t utilize their thermal spa pool and outdoor pool area so can’t comment much.

Location wise is about 10mins walk from restaurants and convenient stores, and a 10min short drive to the airport as well.

It’s definitely a home where you’d like to return to after a long day, can’t recommend this motel more.!

* The office has some discount coupons for tours and restaurants, be sure to pick up some before checking in to your room.

*There is a thick folder in your unit with several nearby restaurant menus for your reference. Pretty helpful.!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yEeVoNy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 km away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#44 of 91 in Rotorua
113 reviews
0.9 km away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#54 of 91 in Rotorua
18 reviews
0.8 km away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 91 in Rotorua
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
0.3 km away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#33 of 91 in Rotorua
225 reviews
0.1 km away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#32 of 91 in Rotorua
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernleaf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernleaf Motel

Address: 23 Toko Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $90 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernleaf Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernleaf is a great classic Kiwi motel in a central location close to the Central Mall in Rotorua. With its own geothermal bore, it offers a heated outdoor swimming pool, genuine mineral spa pool, as well as cosy warm units. Classic charm is the theme, with spacious units, fully equipped kitchens with stoves and plenty of beds to sleep the whole family in our one bedroom or two bedroom units. Enjoy a night of entertainment using our Roku Streaming units or Smart T.V.'s and watch your favourite movies, on our subscription paid channels. Or, use your own account to rent a new release. Also available for viewing are T.V. Series including documentaries and You Tube Channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Fernleaf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing