We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clover Downs Homestead
Ranked #21 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed in the "Going Flying" room - had a nice deck overlooking the deer & farm fields. Very clean. Large room & comfortable bed. Good wifi. Mike & Sharon were very welcoming and suggested that we visit the local park that has a nice walking trail thru the giant redwood trees past the crystal clear springs. We were so glad that we took their suggestion - very relaxing. Mike's tour of the farm was great! So fun to see all the different animals, including their friendly dogs. The grounds were beautiful - flowers everywhere. Rolling green hills, beautiful sunsets. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at Clover Downs Estate during our quick trip to New Zealand in February, 2012. We couldn't have received a warmer welcome. Our room, the Governor's room was wonderfully spacious and comfortable. It included a very comfortable bed and pillows, a double couch seating area with large t.v. and a very handy desk looking out at the beautiful countryside and their deer. Our room had a private outdoor deck overlooking the grounds and the gardens are particularly lovely. There was wifi in our room which was useful. The two days we were there coincided with a visit from two of their adult children who are wonderful young adults, a pleasure to meet. Our hosts were very helpful and provided information about great things to see and do in the area. We enjoyed our stay with them very much. We were even taken on a free tour of their little farm which includes coloured sheep, ostriches, alpacas, two varieties of deer, a couple of steer and a few wonderful and well behaved dogs. We can't think of anything that would have improved our stay.

Thank you both very much for a marvelous break from the hustle and bustle and your warm and helpful hospitality.

Kay and Bob, Gold Coast, Australia

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosice, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed here for one night during my first visit to New Zealand. Was the best accommodation we had through out New Zealand. It is a bit different of what I am used in Europe, but that doesn´t mean it is bad. On the contrary. It was amazing.

We had a bit of problems to find the accommdoation as we were arriving in the evening, but after calling Lyn we reached the destination easily. We were overhelmed by the warm welcome, being introduced to the surrounding and showed around. Amazing bathroom and coffee at the terrace made the stay even better. I won´t ever forget the dogs and the black little sheep acting as a pet.

Loved it and will be definitely back.

Room Tip: Governor´s Suite - very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Lyn and Lloyd are friendly and welcoming hosts. We stayed in the Governor's room with comfortable seating and large bathroom with twin sinks. The location is quite rural and about a 15 minute drive from Rotorua. The price was at the high end for a B&B especially as breakfast was only continental not cooked. Clover Downs has a small complement of animals including about a dozen deer, a few sheep and two ostrich. Lloyd is happy to give tours of the grounds and we particularly enjoyed the hour we spent with him going around the small farm at no extra charge.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetcifarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F, Owner at Clover Downs Homestead, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Ownership of Clover Downs has changed since the stay of this reviewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.6 km away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
406 reviews
5.5 km away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
150 reviews
4.8 km away
Doolan's Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
B&B Blossom Cottage
B&B Blossom Cottage
#6 of 52 in Rotorua
200 reviews
11.9 km away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
4.4 km away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Downs Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Downs Homestead

Property: Clover Downs Homestead
Address: 175 Jackson Road | Rd 6, Rotorua 3096, New Zealand (Formerly Clover Downs Estate)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price range (per night): $193 - $267
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clover Downs Homestead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clover Downs is a unique place to stay. Situated just 15 minutes from Rotorua in the secluded country setting of Hamurana, it is a comfortable homestead catering for single travellers, couples and families. Large comfortable rooms provide you with a place to rest and relax in peace and tranquillity, while cows, horse and deer graze on the green paddocks surrounding the house. Clover Downs gives you an unparalleled opportunity to get up close to farm animals. In the evening after a busy day of sightseeing, enjoy a glass of wine on your own private veranda overlooking lush pasture.Your host, Ruth will ensure that your retreat is comfortable and memorable. She can also help arrange other activities so that you can experience all that Rotorua has to offer - geothermal wonderlands with geysers and bubbling mud pools, the rich Maori culture, excellent fishing, sightseeing and other exciting pursuits. Or you can travel further afield to Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Whakatane, Taupo and Waitomo.Stay at Clover Downs Estate, enjoy fine country accommodation, get close to nature, breathe the country air. An authentic kiwi experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Clover Downs Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing