We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Ranked #41 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Treetops is a bit, off the track, but once you get over the potholes in the road and rough conditions, it is worth the trip. Fabulous main lodge where your individual host (Harry, Mike or Ricki) meets you and instructs you on the history of the property, the attention to maintaining the history and Maori traditions. Villas were very roomy, excellent amenities, cozy fireplace (needed as it rained solid for two days). when it did stop raining we made the tramp to the Bridal Falls...make sure you do not stop at the first footbridge of a small falls as the REAL THING is just around the corner. Well worth the muddy tramp. Now the food, incredible! Phillipe, William and Pieter did a fantastic job, attending to every detail, explaining cooking techniques and preparation. We did take the cooking class which was worth the trip discussing all items from food selection to local garden tour and finally game cooking incredible experience. We did not get to take the estate tour due to poor track conditions, but experience was great the same.

Room Tip: The apartment in main lodge would be great for family group, but Villas' are very special, priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeburnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnSax_Owner, Owner at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Mike, thanks for the great review and much appreciated the pat on the back to our team - yes they do their very best to ensure guests really understand what Treetops is all about - and certainly your review maintains that!. Apologies on the road, it has been I believe the wettest New Zealand winter since 1962 and yes that plays havoc with the entrance road - but we do repair that now in Spring with our dryer weather in front of us. Come back in summer and visit some of the other walking and adventure trails (70km in all) and beautiful waterfalls on the estate. Be assured just as beautiful as the REAL THING!

Regards, John Sax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

My partner surprised me with a weekend at Treetops lodge where he proposed by the beautiful waterfall. We had the best time! The property is amazing, the staff were so helpful, friendly (in particular Michael our host) and went out of their way to accommodate for my dietary requirements (vegetarian) at the 5 course degustations. Food and wine was fantastic and our villa was beautiful. I've been raving to my friends and family about what a wonderful time we had there. I would totally recommend this magical place for any special occasion, we will definitely return for future anniversaries! Thank you to John Sax and your great team for having us!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank haleigh2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnSax_Owner, Owner at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

First, on behalf of all of the team at Treetops a warm congratulations on your engagement! It must be one of the most romantic and very special proposal sites in New Zealand - right beside the Bridalveil Waterfall. And very kind words about our Assistant Lodge Manager Michael, I have ensured this message from you has got back to him. Appreciated.

Kind regards, John Sax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

There are newly constructed bungalows and converted cabins. We stayed in the converted cabin that had nice appointments, but certainly did not match the elegance of the main house and lobby. For what you are paying, you could be disappointed if you have one of the older cabins. The breakfast that is included is expansive- there is a buffet or you can order prepared items as well. They have hired a very attentive staff that is concerned about your happiness. Know in advance that they offer many activities on their property and make sure you have time to do them: skeet shooting, fly fishing, helicopter tours, hot tub, mountain biking, and spa services. We took the hour and a half hike that begins from their backyard to Bridal Veil Falls. That was exercise!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank QueenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnSax_Owner, Owner at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it is appreciated the very kind feedback of our team at Treetops and yes, they are very committed to ensuring the guest experience is exemplary. I am not quite sure what you mean by 'newly constructed versus converted cabins', as all our villas were architecturally designed and purpose built at the time of opening the lodge - and all as luxury guest accommodation - however we do have 4 lodge rooms that are connected to the lodge itself which make up our Owners Apartment - and they were all designed and constructed at the same time as the villas. However, so pleased you enjoyed our piece of New Zealand paradise.

Kind regards, Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Check in is very personal on a couch, everything is very nice and of quality. a main lodge is hunting lodge style , a la Africa, very pretty. stay in the villas , fantastic rooms with high quality everything. deep tub, big shower, convenient TV's, small fridge, great private patio with great views. longish walk to dinner, better drive especially at night. pitch black. You eat at a common table with all the rest of guests, id never done that before, actually pleasant talking with everyone, you can ,if you care to, hunt various common and exotic animals. Get good directions or GPS this place is in the middle of nowhere. I highly recommend it , great stay!!!!

Room Tip: Villa, budget permitting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pkmcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnSax_Owner, Owner at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Much appreciated your review, and yes we know it is a very special and uniquely New Zealand experience as you have discovered yourself during your stay. Great to have you with us at Treetops. John Sax, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

We arrived in late afternoon and were greeted by Harry. He was terrific and helped us with all our questions and was totally available to us the entire three nights we stayed. We were fortunate to have the the Owner, John Sax and his wife to dine with for 2 of those nights such a wonderful and delightful couple. We had an estate tour with David. His enthusiastic application of botany and animal husbandry were amazing and the wood burning fireplace in our suite was just what the doctor ordered! Relaxing! And the food was interesting. The Chilean Chef was very inventive. Come here it is a great experience

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank CaptainMo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnSax_Owner, General Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Fantastic to meet you. Great review, and have passed onto the team - John Sax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
14.5 km away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
22.2 km away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
147 reviews
19.8 km away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
12.6 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
24.2 km away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Lodge & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge & Estate

Address: 351 Kearoa Road | Horohoro, Rotorua 3077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#24 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $916 - $2,580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Treetops Lodge & Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 2,500 acres of 800 year old native forest, this award-winning luxury lodge is a life-long dream realised by owner and passionate naturalist John Sax. This uniquely New Zealand experience is a sanctuary and retreat of breath-taking terrain, offering the ultimate in world-class accommodation and adventure. Located outside Rotorua, the Maori heartland and trout fishing capital of the world, the Lodge’s elegant, ecology-inspired and architectural style was derived from the country’s pioneering past, with timber and stone finished echoing the natural beauty and simplicity of the great outdoors. Treetops offer seven streams, on-site trout fishing, four lakes and over 35 miles of adventure trails. Family adventures include helicopter adventures to live volcanoes, geocaching hunts and for the smaller guests a 5 Star Kids Club. Of particular note is Treetops Estate to Plate philosophy, with most of the dishes created by the dedicated team of chefs featuring ingredients reared or grown on this vast estate and near 100% pesticide free. These include world-class game and trout and also highlight estate-grown fruit and vegetables plus unique native herbs from the forest. Also offered is a superb wine cellar of New Zealand and world wines, with expert advice on making the best possible matches New are the complimentary Treetops Signature Experiences; ‘Estate to Plate’ Safari, Wild Food Cooking School, and the Indigenous Food and Heritage Trail - all offering unequalled personal interaction with the natural heritage and native wilderness. Our dedicated spa offers unique health-giving Maori rituals and traditional treatments, or for golfers, Treetops extends a personal invitation to their sister lodge, The Kinloch Club which boasts the 18 hole Jack Nicklaus designed golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Treetops Lodge & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing