We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
USD 135
USD 108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 190
USD 172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
USD 67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 70
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
USD 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aura Accommodation(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
USD 87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VR Rotorua Lake Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
USD 84
USD 71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 546
USD 457
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,314 results
Traveller rating
319
457
285
140
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
457
285
140
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrace courserace trackspa bathmezz baratrium restaurantbuffet breakfastindoor poolbalcony overlookinghuge roomtop floorbit datedbeds were very comfortablenew zealandracecourse
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,314 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. The hotel is a bit dated but adequate. The room was clean, quiet and fine for us. The meals were good and the bar food is great. The hotel is a good 20 minutes from the main part of town so have good walking shoes.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to pass on some feedback from your stay. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour and time in New Zealand.

Regards
Michael Sharp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed there for 5 nights, if I didn’t have to stay there I wouldn’t have. Everything is
dated, rundown or not cared for. In big letters in one of the 2 elevators is the word FU@# scratched into the doors in big letters. The pool isn’t working. The lights in my room had water dripping through them when it rained on the last day and a big water leak in the hallway. The breakfast was real average and dinner was ok. Staff were polite.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank 294danh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thanks for your comments. I wasnt aware of the graffiti in the hotel lift, I have had this repaired now. We have had some roof repairs over the last few weeks which is due to the large amount of rain Rotorua has had this year. I feel like the hotel is on top of these now and should not be an issue in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards
Michael Sharp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Highly disappointed, the accommodation was outdated, run down, dirty - there was mould in the bathroom dusty etc, and expired food as part of the mini bar. The pool was also closed which was disappointing upon arrival.
Spa room is overrated and outdated - and extremely dirty.

Family stayed on the bottom floor and were kept awake for each of the three nights we stayed with people walking down the corridor, talking, yelling, opening doors etc on the way to the car park.

Room Tip: Top floor or family rooms look nicer than spa rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzyLou10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback from your stay. It is disappointing to read about the Out of Date Minibar in your room as well as the room not being cleaned properly. I have discussed this with the Executive Housekeeper who is looking into this issues immediately. The hotel pool has been out of action for over 12 months now and the hotel has made a very conscious effort to remove all notification of it on the websites. I am sorry that you were still not made aware of this, I will personally check the websites again to ensure the pool details are removed. We are looking into options of re-building the pool area on the hotel grounds.

Regards
Michael Sharp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We went for breakfast.... they only have buffet, no a lá carte. $17 for the continental buffet and $26 or $29 for the full hit buffet. We had continental and it had a good selection of juice and cereal and toast/ danish..... but I find it pricey. The venue is fine.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 32brucebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

We need to have a great selection especially for the most important meal of the day. We do try and keep the price as low as possible. Ill look into having some smaller A La Carte options with the Executive Chef.

Regards
Michael Sharp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Good easy check in with friendly staff. Huge rooms with all the amenities required. Good selection of food at breakfast with something for everyone. Good position with an easy walk to restaurants and bars. Added bonus is the free laundry area provided on level one just 2dollars to pay for the washing powder at reception.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Geoffly087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Yep, only free laundry here, none of those coin machines. Pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay in Rotorua's Largest Accommodation Rooms. Hope to see you again one day.

Regards
Michael Sharp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews