We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place - Good Value”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Very Friendly, and helpful staff. My wife and I and our 4 yr old stayed. Nice rooms, Everything clean, great breakfast.We loved the pool / spa area.
Special thanks to Victor for showing us round. We checked in here after moving from another hotel we had booked that was of a poor standard. Would definetly recommend this place to others, and will be back to stay in near future. Good value for money. Thanks to the staff for an enjoyable stay. Sean and family

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
SeanS & Family,
So pleased the family had a great time here at the hotel. We get a lot of great comments about Victor & our team & are delighted you got to experience their service. Breakfast being the most important meal of the day it is so important, so we are glad you enjoyed our extensive variety as we have so many nationalities & clientele through we try & cater for all. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    160
    73
    30
    13
See reviews for
118
145
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights while attending a business related conference in September, so this hotel was choosen on that basis. Notwithstanding the expectation was that this was a little more up market.

The property does seem dated, both within the reception area and the rooms, probably 15 years behind a refreshment. The staff on reception were polite but I would rate them as friendly, a job was to be done and they were doing it.

I had breakfast both mornings, but found the buffet lacking, I do not know whether that was because both days I entered after a bus load of tourist, but I would not go out of my way to say I would eat there again if other options were nearby.

The hotel is actually quite some distance from the centre of town and there is not alot around the hotel except house (note not the best neighbourhood either). So if you do not want to eat in the hotel, expect a five minute drive back into the city.

The rooms were comfortable, clean and pleasent but also aged. Though they advertise SKY, very limited selection and found the broadband service very poor, actually used my own internet connection.

So though the hotel meet it purpose, I would rate as a very OLD & TIRED 4 star and not the destination you make the trip for!

Room Tip: Car Park is not very secure, do not leave valuables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SometimesSkiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
SometimesSkiing
Thanks for your comments from your stay back in September. I am pleased to say a lot has changed within this building since then. Our Bar & restaurants were refurbished just over three years ago and are considered by clients very modern & welcoming. We are completing a refurbishment on our standard rooms from next month so will have a better product to offer for those choosing that room type. Most of our Deluxe rooms have already been upgraded in the last three years so are looking good. I hope we get to welcome you back to show the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stay here every time we are in Rotorua and love the place...Mr Yakitori - the Japanese restaurant in house is awesome! The pool & grotto spas are great - kids love the spas! I would recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for accommodation in Rotorua

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misschiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Misshiff
Thanks so much for your comments; I’m pleased our hotel is a destination of choice. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon. The facilities are great for children & adults alike and the grotto spas are something just a bit different. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

It may seem a bit strange to describe the hotel a "touristy" in a touristy town but that was the overall impression.
First impressions are good with efficient and very friendly staff at reception. However, the rooms were "tired" though spacious. The hotel is located 2.4km from the town centre which could be an issue if you didnt have a car, though it was within walking distance of a thermal park. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment (we drove into town and went to a very good cafe) but we did go to a "hangi" meal at the hotel and whilst the entertainment was OK, the food was poor.
There were also many coach parties in but facilities did not appear to be overloaded.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike51198092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Hi Mike54498092
Thanks for coming to stay with us while here in NZ. You are correct our standard rooms are looking a bit on the tired side, but I am pleased to advise we are looking at completing a refurbishment on those rooms, next month in April. Our Deluxe rooms were refurbished over the last couple of years and are still looking great. Sorry to hear your thoughts on our Maori Dinner & Show meal, we have tried to base the food groups on what was available in the area many years ago and although we do not cook the food in an actual Hangi, it is all steamed to try & retain some authentication. If your ever back this way I hope you get the chance to try our Buffet Breakfast, it is quite extensive offering something for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Nice rooms but a little outdated. Guests need to walk through reception to get to the pool.Pool towels were tatty and falling apart. Nice spa pools and pool area though.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony over the pool is an advantage. At least you can walk outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliecan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Juliecan59
Thanks for coming and staying with us, I trust the pool & spa pool area gave you an opportunity to relax & enjoy. The pool towels will be checked and replaced. We are in the process of planning a refurbishment of our rooms (that are yet to be completed) and hope to have some underway in April.
I hope you’ll visit again so we can show the improvements made on our different levels of rooms available.

We are also in the process of changing our Pavilion lunch menu, so shall have something new for you to try on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
1.0 km away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
1,217 reviews
2.8 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
3.7 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
248 reviews
2.0 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price range (per night): $103 - $233
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing