We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Maria Motel
Nearby Hotels
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
USD 128
USD 87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
USD 137
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 143
USD 120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
USD 90
USD 80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 108
USD 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
USD 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aura Accommodation(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
USD 93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
USD 103
USD 93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 553
USD 468
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
36
27
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
27
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky tvroad noisestay there againcentre of townfree wifiunitaccommodationspakitchenredwoodsamenitieswashingattractions
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stayed in the cabin and enjoyed it immensely. When we checked in Jason took the time to tell us all of the area highlights, where to go and what to see. We took his advice and saw several things we would have missed. The room was dated, but clean and well maintained. The cabin had 3 bedrooms with a double and two singles, sitting room and a kitchen. It also had a washing macine in the bathroom. It is very well located to see the Redwoods, the lakes and close to town. Would be great for a family. The ground wee immaculate. Would highly recommend this place. Jason was great.

Room Tip: We recommend the cabin.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDA_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E, Manager at Santa Maria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for leaving us this review, we appreciate your time in writing this for us. We are happy that you enjoyed your short stay in Rotorua and wish you more happy travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We called in to check in earlier and Jason was accommodating to have it arranged. Accommodation was very clean and tidy even without any dust. All facilities are well kept although they are old. Jason even allowed later checkout due to us having a late night out. Recommend it for good value for money!

Room Tip: Get room away from the road, sometimes noisy!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ZeUs_CrItIc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E, Manager at Santa Maria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

We are very thankful that you left us a review, we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Regards
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Santa Maria because it was near an event we were attending. Jason was very helpful by phone before we arrived. Also he picked us up from the bus terminal, and drove us to town the day we departed.
Our unit was clean and well appointed. Although out of the centre of town, it suited our purpose. Very good amenities around, with take away restaurants and shops in walking distance. Will stay there again.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank kitb296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E, Manager at Santa Maria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving such a glowing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

This is a comfortable, cosy family motel situated 5 minutes drive from the Centre of Rotorua. It is near the Blue and Green Lakes and the Redwood forest tourist attractions. You would need a car to stay here. Over the road is a small shopping centre with takeaway outlets, a bakery, a pharmacy and fruit and vege shop amongst other things. Next door is an Indian takeaway outlet, a fish and chip shop and a dairy. There was some road noise, but it didn't effect our sleep or those of our grandchildren. There was no noise from other guests through the walls like you get in some other motels. There is a quirky spa, old but worked well, in the garden area (an inside spa) with a fantastic kiwiana mural. I spent ages talking to my London grandkids about what each part of the mural meant, it was fun. The garden is lovely, and would be a great place to sit in the sun.
It has sky TV and free wifi, it has an iron and hairdryer.
it is unpretentious, so don't expect flash. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E, Manager at Santa Maria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for leaving us a review, we are happy that we met good standards again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

This place is a bit outside of the centre of town, but since we had a car, this didn't make much difference for us (it's less than a 5-minute drive into town), but if you didn't have a car, it could be inconvenient. Our hostess was lovely, immediately drawing on a map all of the things we should visit and see, giving us discount coupons for local attractions, and just being a lovely and friendly presence throughout our stay. The room was spacious and clean, and while some people might be bothered by the traffic noise of the busy road outside, it didn't bother us much.

Room Tip: We booked a Maori experience in advance, we should have waited until we got there, as our hostess had so many discounts and advice to offer!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E, Manager at Santa Maria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for leaving us a 4 star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews