We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
Ranked #50 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in 2 bedrms unit for a family of 4 for 3 nights. The bedrooms are small and basic. So was the washroom shower and toilet. The kitchen is functional. The thermal heating was excellent and this is really important during cold winter nights.
The mineral pool works well during our first night. The sulphur smell is rather strong at time depending on the direction of the wind. The motel is located beside the main road junction and the noise from passing vehicles are quite audible.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank mahli o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Mr yang very helpful the unit was quiet and very clean with good facilities - it was winter so we apprectaed the excellent heating and the thermal pools were great -we enjoyed our stay- recommend to anyone

Room Tip: we stayed in n04
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hi Simon
Thank you very much for taking time to give us the review. We are happy to know you enjoyed staying with us. Looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We stayed here for a few nights while in the Rotorua area and everything was great. The accommodations were nice and clean, but the shower was a bit dated (worked just fine though). The natural hot spring was a nice feature and the owners were friendly and accommodating. The hotel location worked out great for us and was easy to find. Overall we were very happy with our time here.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dr_j_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hi dr_j_now,
Thanks for staying with us. It is great to know you have a good holiday here. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Malfroy Lodge for 3 nights while following the British & Irish Lions rugby tour of New Zealand. On arrival we were met by the owner who gave us lots of information and advice about the area and showed us around the apartment and complex. Nothing was too much trouble including helping with our laundry.
Our room was spacious, comfortable & very clean and tidy. The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels and coffees etc. Car parking was right outside our room.
Location wise it took us approx 15mins to walk into Rotorua centre though shopping malls and supermarkets were closer. Driving into the centre was quick & easy along with many of the local attractions, so all in all an excellent central location to base yourselves to explore the Rotorua area.
Didn't use the thematic spa & pool but it looked nice.
Would definitely recommend the Malfroy Lodge.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank watkinsfamilyGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hi watkinsfamilyGwent,
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We were here for 2 nights with extended family members, easy access to everything, would recommend to everyone. The family unit was just the right solution for the 7 of us with kitchen facilities that helped us cooked our own meal while trying to be money wise when on holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi Lee,
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 km away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#2 of 91 in Rotorua
275 reviews
0.3 km away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 91 in Rotorua
118 reviews
1 km away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#77 of 91 in Rotorua
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
5.3 km away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#15 of 91 in Rotorua
305 reviews
1.9 km away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#52 of 91 in Rotorua
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool

Address: 51 Malfroy Road | Victoria, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $118 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our own geothermal re-injection bore, MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool allows our guests a therapeutic and relaxing experience by providing comfortable and affordable, centrally heated accommodation for Families, Couples, and Business Travellers - plus free, unlimited, high speed, in room WiFi. Our apartments are set in attractive gardens with local artists murals, carvings and statues, a genuine Mineral Pool (Spa), a heated Plunge Pool, Barbecue, and a secure children's play area. We are conveniently located for the fantastic local attractions, are close to Rotorua's largest shopping mall, and to the CBD where you will find a choice of boutique clothing and souvenir shops, good coffee stops, a range of quality restaurants and a number of lively bars. Come and stay for a while, and we will look after you and help you to have a great time in and around Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malfroy Motor Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing