We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
85
93
57
22
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
93
57
22
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews facing the main road lake rotorua pool and hot tub stayed here for three nights beds were comfortable rooms are large nice room handy location road noise family room enjoyed our stay living room minute drive would stay again reception spa microwave
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in. The carpet was stained, dead mosquitos were squashed on the blinds, mould everywhere and silverfish were found in every room. Absolutely filthy, do not recommend.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Safari764479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear the rooms weren't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. We have personally addressed this with our housekeeping staff to ensure this won't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The kitchen utensils are greasy. Spoiled carpet and old dirty sofa. There’re mosquitoes but they didn’t install mosquito net, and because there’s no A/C, we had no choice hut to open window slightly but mosquitoes still managed to get in. Overall, extremely disappointed about cleanliness of this hotel, would not recommend to stay at this hotel. It looks like an old motel or college dorm room.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Regqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Hello Regqueen,
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that needs updating specially in terms of carpets. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of these upgrades to the property within the next couple of months. We hope that we can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our improved hotel services!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay, friendly staff, room was slightly dated but good value for money. Good size room. Good location 5 min drive to most attractions. Plenty of car spots and it's free which is always a plus.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Meakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hello Meakz,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience, glad to hear that you found the room spacious and value for money. Our friendly staff pride themselves on their work.

We look forward to seeing you back in your next trip to Rotorua NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

We booked two nights at this "hotel" through iSite and were very disappointed with this accommodation. Not sure how the owners are allowed to call this a hotel because what it is is an old, tired, basic motel with the kitchen removed. The carpeting in our unit was extremely soiled, the walls dirty and in need of reprinting, the draperies dirty and the door gouged and dirty. In addition, debris and cigarette butts accumulated outside our door. I did mention this to the front desk but it would seem that no-one is in charge of sweeping. We have travelled extensively around the world but this motel is very poor value and we can not recommend it. Our advice would be to stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear about your bad experience during your stay. However, there was no issue raised during the time of stay. We’re normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed the mark in terms of cleanliness. Regarding carpets they are light in colour which makes it looks like soiled and we are working on to improve our carpet condition. We look forward to welcome you again with improved services and quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The staff were nice and friendly and the check in process was seamless. My room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. Only downsize was the lack of aircon but other than that a great hotel to stay in. Nice pool and spa and a handy 10 minute walk into town.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hello Nick,

We really appreciate your 4/5 review posted on TripAdvisor and thank you for your kind words. Great to hear that the majority of your stay was positive. We look forward to welcome you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews