We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good food & drinks”

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
Price range: USD 7 - USD 24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner here. We were greeted and seated promptly which is always a great way to start off. There were some wait times due to short staff but the staff were informative and apologetic and the scenery is so beautiful we didn't mind the wait. All our meals were very tasty. Steak was cooked to our liking (Medium) and the fish of the day was also very good (snapper). We would visit here again.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Preston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thanks for your lovely review Preston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Ordered 1x medium..1xmedium/well..got 1xdripping blood 2thirds fat and grissle..1xmedium dripping blood..never experienced cooking so bad..will not recommend.. Had a better burger next door..same kitchen.. Got a shrug on complaining

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank EdwardH2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, General Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for bringing this to our attention we are surprised to learn your complaint was not resolved at the time as we complete regular table checks. Kind Regards Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

I had a grabone voucher to use. We ordered the Angus sirloin steak. One medium to well done, and the other medium. Husband was not happy with his rare steak as it was still bleeding. Presentation was good. Service was a bit slack but it was cheerful.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank kamo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, General Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

As per response to your husbands review, thank you for bringing this to our attention we are surprised to learn your complaint was not resolved at the time. Kind Regards Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Lovely place .. friendly staff .. only bif is not much food on plate for the price. Extensive menu but not very flavorsome a little disappointing. Top waiter Carlos thank you for your top attention.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hi Barbara,
Thanks for your feedback. So pleased Carlos looked after you so well. If you could drop me a line to info@35south.co.nz with the meals you had I would like to look further into your comments and resolve with our chef.
Kind regards,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Our grandson loved the aquarium. Spent hours looking at the fish. The staff were so friendly we went back for a meal the next evening. The meal was very good and again. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank jane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Owner at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Kia ora Jane. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself at our restaurant. We really do appreciate your kind words about our establishment and it's awesome to hear that your grandson enjoyed the aquarium. It's always a winner with children! We hope to see you again soon in the near future! Regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing