We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
253
95
12
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
95
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews undercover parking hosts phil cleaning staff bit dated rooms are clean location is great visiting paihia a lovely stay room was large enjoyable stay motel balcony accommodation wharf bay laundry kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

A 65th birthday led us to Paihia for the weekend so we booked the Swiss Chalet, what a lovely comfortable place to stay, warm friendly and cosy. Very friendly staff , very welcoming. I highly recommend to all if you want a really cost effective place to stay with all the comforts then please pay The Swiss Chalet a visit.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for your great review Marion M. It was really nice to see you all enjoying yourselves - fun and laughter is always good for you. Hopefully we get to see you another time. Regards Maureen and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

This place is so wallet friendly (reasonable priced), clean and very comfy. We enjoyed the hosts hospitality and her attention to details. Maureen the host looked after our sightseeing for the next day suggesting what we could be doing and how to get the best prices. Thank you Maureen

Room Tip: Suggest a room on the first floor to have some privacy
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sarvikra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff, clean comfortable room, great parking and facilities with a perfect location for exploring the bay of islands. Wished I could have stayed longer, this place was great, would highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your great review Paul R. It would be lovely to have you stay with us again. Kind regards Maureen and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Stayed her for 4xnights last month. Drove up from Auckland so arrived late, Maureen was a lovely Host & waiting to greet us. As the weather had taken a turn, Maureen was most helpful with day trip tips etc. The hotel itself is quite dated but spacious & clean. The rooms just need an overhaul with colour along with bathroom reno. But again...... clean. Did not get the gist of the spar in that laundry type room though.... very unwelcoming.
We booked purely on price......... wouldn't stay again though.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteMV2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and I took our two grown children here for Easter weekend. When shown to our room we all smelled urine at the foyer of our front door step. There was fake green grass/mat. We discussed it after owner had gone. I went to the loo and noticed the skirtings were thick with dust. I then checked kitchen shelves, dusty. I'm far from a fussy house keeper but decided for over $350 a night it wasn't really good enough so reported to owners. They were horrified but had to agree(eventually) with urine smell and excess dust, including musky smelling duvets. They got the cleaner onto it and were suitably embarrassed and apologized, no reduction on settling the bill, which would have helped abit. The motel was very dated too with doilies and old style furniture which would've been ok if clean.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you for your review Tania G. I can not understand why you have chosen to write your review 2 years after you stayed with us. I remember precisely when you stayed and it was at a time when we were having trouble with wild cats in the area. This problem has now been resolved. I regret that your experience with us was not enjoyable. We always try to keep our rooms spotless as you can see from our reviews. We feel that the room does not warrant a score of 2 out of 5 as it is a lovely apartment with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and also large lounge/dining room and private balcony. Regards, Maureen and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews