We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
9
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat tripjanetapartmentadvicebedroomkitchenviewshostsbayisland
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Warm welcome from Janet who had laid out tea cups and homemade muffins for us. The accommodation was a good size, with a fully equipped kitchen and plenty of seating inside and out. The views are as amazing as all the photos suggest. We enjoyed being able to leave the car and walk into Paihia to join the boat trips or have a meal out.

Room Tip: There's just the one self contained apartment so you're guaranteed fantastic views.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilacgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet-Jim P, Owner at Swallows Nest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your time in Paihia, your boat trip out on the Bay, and
the tea cakes. The stroll into town is easy with a little more effort on the up-hill return.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We stayed for almost a week (1-7/4/17) during which time most of N Island had torrential rain and some parts had floods. Despite that, we had a wonderful time. Our hosts Janet and Jim could not have been more helpful, and the views from the apartment were just as wonderful as advertised. The apartment is very comfortable, spacious and well-equipped, and outstanding value for money. Apart from the rain we also had some great sunny weather, and there is no shortage of great things to do. The full day boat trip (the 'cream trip') around the bay was a highlight - which Jim booked for us. It would be wonderful to come back ...

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank ChrisMitchell_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet-Jim P, Owner at Swallows Nest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hi Chris, Thank you for your review and we were pleased that the 'moist' days did not affect your enjoyment of the 'Bay-of-Islands'. We do try to have a direct line to the weather gods but sometimes the messages get delayed.!!
New Zealand will always be here for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Fabulous start to our NZ tour.The owner,Jim, going the extra mile when we left the passports behind!He very kindly forwarded them onto a future stop on our tour.
Also very helpful with advice and suggestions of things to do and booked us onto a boat trip. Many thanks Jim.

March 6-8th 2017

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hfsheir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet-Jim P, Owner at Swallows Nest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

We are pleased we were able to connect you with your passports again and hope you were able to enjoy New Zealand and everything it has to offer the International traveller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Located a 10 min. walk from the hustle and bustle of main street Paihia, Swallows nest is a perfect place to come home to after a busy day. Very clean,full ground floor apartment, separate bedroom, full kitchen, sitting inside and outside with view of Opua harbour. We loved coming home after a full day of adventure, sitting outside on the deck with a glass of wine, watching the view to the harbour. Quiet and peaceful. Jim and Janet were excellent hosts with tips of things to do and places to go that weren't necessarily in the brochures. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: This is a single apartment
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterH9468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet-Jim P, Owner at Swallows Nest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hi Peter, so pleased we were able to make some suggestions to you for your time in Paihia and the harbour views to Opua will always be there, maybe for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

When we arrived, Janet and Jim needed to be away and not able to be there to great us. They left a note on the door and access to a key to let ourselves in. There on the counter were two cupcakes and everything ready for tea. A very thoughtful gesture from Janet and Jim.
We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the apartment. The furniture was comfortable, the apartment well equipped. Our stay was only for 2 nights so we were not able to utilize everything. Next time we go to Paihia we would definitely stay at Swallows Nest.
The only thing we found a bit disconcerting was the steep driveway, but it was worth going up in order to enjoy such a nice place.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GeraldJ190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet-Jim P, Owner at Swallows Nest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hi Gerald, Thank you for your review and your description, apologies for the up hill walk but hope the views made up for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews