We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 88
USD 60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 144
USD 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Palms Apartments(Paihia)(Great Value!)
USD 115
USD 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 139
USD 116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
USD 105
USD 100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands(Paihia)(Great Value!)
USD 77
USD 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 57
USD 49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
USD 67
USD 64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 197
USD 163
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
8
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent hostsboat tripfull kitchenjanetapartmentadvicebedroomviewsbayisland
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We stayed for almost a week (1-7/4/17) during which time most of N Island had torrential rain and some parts had floods. Despite that, we had a wonderful time. Our hosts Janet and Jim could not have been more helpful, and the views from the apartment were just as wonderful as advertised. The apartment is very comfortable, spacious and well-equipped, and outstanding value for money. Apart from the rain we also had some great sunny weather, and there is no shortage of great things to do. The full day boat trip (the 'cream trip') around the bay was a highlight - which Jim booked for us. It would be wonderful to come back ...

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank ChrisMitchell_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet-Jim P, Owner at Swallows Nest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hi Chris, Thank you for your review and we were pleased that the 'moist' days did not affect your enjoyment of the 'Bay-of-Islands'. We do try to have a direct line to the weather gods but sometimes the messages get delayed.!!
New Zealand will always be here for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Fabulous start to our NZ tour.The owner,Jim, going the extra mile when we left the passports behind!He very kindly forwarded them onto a future stop on our tour.
Also very helpful with advice and suggestions of things to do and booked us onto a boat trip. Many thanks Jim.

March 6-8th 2017

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hfsheir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet-Jim P, Owner at Swallows Nest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

We are pleased we were able to connect you with your passports again and hope you were able to enjoy New Zealand and everything it has to offer the International traveller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Located a 10 min. walk from the hustle and bustle of main street Paihia, Swallows nest is a perfect place to come home to after a busy day. Very clean,full ground floor apartment, separate bedroom, full kitchen, sitting inside and outside with view of Opua harbour. We loved coming home after a full day of adventure, sitting outside on the deck with a glass of wine, watching the view to the harbour. Quiet and peaceful. Jim and Janet were excellent hosts with tips of things to do and places to go that weren't necessarily in the brochures. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: This is a single apartment
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet-Jim P, Owner at Swallows Nest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hi Peter, so pleased we were able to make some suggestions to you for your time in Paihia and the harbour views to Opua will always be there, maybe for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

When we arrived, Janet and Jim needed to be away and not able to be there to great us. They left a note on the door and access to a key to let ourselves in. There on the counter were two cupcakes and everything ready for tea. A very thoughtful gesture from Janet and Jim.
We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the apartment. The furniture was comfortable, the apartment well equipped. Our stay was only for 2 nights so we were not able to utilize everything. Next time we go to Paihia we would definitely stay at Swallows Nest.
The only thing we found a bit disconcerting was the steep driveway, but it was worth going up in order to enjoy such a nice place.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet-Jim P, Owner at Swallows Nest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hi Gerald, Thank you for your review and your description, apologies for the up hill walk but hope the views made up for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

Comfortable suite with a lovely view from high above. Very close to everything but up a steep hill, so having a car was nice. Jim & Janet were very helpful and Jim's suggestion for golf was fantastic, prettiest course we have ever played on.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DawnPowellRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwislove2travel, Owner at Swallows Nest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Hi Dawn,
Janet & Jim thank you for your review and are pleased that you enjoyed your round of Golf at Waitangi, this course is possibly one of the 'best kept secrets' in New Zealand.
We hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand, the land of the 'Long White Cloud'
Regards, Janet & Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews