We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Two rainy days but still had fun”
other travellers have booked this property
Million Dollar views of Opua Marina
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Million Dollar views of Opua Marina
Your panoramic view. Just more of the same.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Million Dollar views of Opua Marina
Your panoramic view.
Just more of the same.
Your Ocean & Bush view.
A preparators delight
Enjoying your preparation
Great view from the dining table
Cozy and comfortable
Plenty of sunshine to enjoy the anbience.
The ocean is always there.
Plenty of space.
Sweet dreams
Swallows Nest in a tropical setting.
Tropical setting from your pillow.
Panache in the ensuite.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Paihia, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MargieWF
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Two rainy days but still had fun”
Reviewed 1 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The apartment was very comfortable and surrounded by flowers and greenery. The front view was terrific, especially when the sun finally came out. It was too wet to eat meals out on the front deck. There is a nice clothes washer. Our clothes did not dry on the covered line or in the bathroom. The last night we draped them on chairs around the heater and by morning they were dry. Our host was very welcoming and helpful. We would have enjoyed staying a few more days as two nights were not enough to see everything. We liked the Waitangi Treaty Grounds and the Just Fish restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
We are pleased the 'moist' weather did not dampen your spirits too much, New Zealand is green because we do get some presipitation occasionally!! but when it stops the blue sky is bright blue.
There is so much history & activities to do here we recommend everyone returns again in the future.!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Y
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Swallows Nest has an amazing view from your front door. The apartment is very well equipped with all the comforts of home. The owners are very friendly and knowledgable about the area. They told us about tours, great places to eat and even things to do if it was raining. Janet had made some beautiful muffins for us on arrival which was very much appreciated. Had the best time in The Bay of Islands. Would recommend Swallows Nest to everyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time in 'Northland' and that Janet's muffins hit the 'spot'. We wish you safe travelling home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMH48
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and spacious with great views”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Swallows Nest proved a great choice for our 4 night stay in the Bay of Islands. The accommodation was comfortable and spacious, with great views and parking right in front. Just 15 mins walk into Pahia (though the return is all uphill), the position was ideal for us, being quiet and peaceful. Owners Janet and Jim were welcoming and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great views.
Liked least: Wifi signal at its best within a limited area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2016
We thank you for your positive review and pleased we were able to offer you accommodation that met all your requirements, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing