We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
65
35
17
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
35
17
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini break great location within walking distance electric blankets spacious apartment no air con incredible views view of the bay separate bedroom couple of nights full kitchen town centre local knowledge motel units jo host
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We stayed here for a week and enjoyed the place immensely. Our unit was extremely comfortable with views out to the Bay of Islands that were amazing. A nice lounge area, kitchen area that was more than adequate for us, separate bedroom and good sized bathroom. Particularly enjoyed the patio area outside which had table, chairs, lounger and BBQ

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Manager at Bayview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you kindly for your review and i am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Johanna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

My wife and I were absolutely disappointed with this Motel. Not only was the cutlery covered in food from the previous occupiers, but the carpet was absolutely filthy, and the couch felt greasy and had never had a clean.
We found that walking on the carpet and the lino, our feet would get black and would have to be washed before either going to bed or putting on our shoes. Our 13-month old son who not only walks but still crawls on occasion, would get up off the floor and his hands, knees and feet would be black. This was shocking to say the least, and we almost packed up and moved to another motel. The cleaner made no attempt to vacuum the place and the overall experience was one that I / we never want to experience again. This is quite and we will use or recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lucyhunter2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Bayview Motel has just been awarded Tripadvisors Certificate Of Excellence 2017. This is a repeat of our previous years awards and is the result of the many excellent reviews received on Tripadvisor,Booking.com,Expedia Etc. This is a true reflection of what Bayview Motel offers.
This guests snide remarks started on the telephone, travelling up from Auckland before even making a booking concerning our bedspreads appearing on our website. I advised the guest that these had been replaced during a recent upgrade. There was much discussion as to whether our magnificent Bay Of Islands seascape was worth the $20 per night charge for a sea view apartment. A seaview was chosen although the $20 difference was a problem.
The guest arrived and was booked into a waterfront sea view apartment.
A half hour later the guest returned to Reception and advised that Bay Of Island's seascape was not worth $20 per night and the guest demanded that they be moved to a non seaview apartment.This we did and after the guest had moved proceeded to clean and sanitize the previous apartments bathroom which had been used.
Shortly thereafter the guest again returned to Reception demanding to know why we advertise queen size beds when they are in fact only double size beds. I advised that they are all queens in my motel and that the new bedspreads purchased are queen size box fitted which would not fit a double bed.The guest raised his eyebrows and left.
Shortly thereafter the guest's wife returned requesting additional Tea towels and dish cloths.We provided them. She again returned requesting 2 extra bath towels and we obliged. We generally only provide 1 bath towel per person per day.
The next day our housekeeper entered the vacant apartment to perform a full service.After only making the bed and replacing the towels,the guest's wife returned and told my housekeeper to leave and to only enter the apartment if she was accompanied by management who must remain with her the whole time. What a disgusting thing to say to a scrupulously honest lady of many years service. As I only returned to the motel after the housekeepers had finished work and left for the day the guests kitchen floor was not cleaned.
The alledged black carpet is a gross exaggeration. I have just crawled around the carpet rubbing my hand backwards and forwards with no black dirt result.
The Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We spend 2 nights at the Bayview Motel. Our room had a stunning view of the bay. I could have sat on our balcony for hours and looked at that view. The room was clean and tidy and we had a small separate lounge area as well as a well equipped kitchenette. The motel is right in town, within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Plenty of parking space. The managers (owners?) were really helpful in regards of where to visit and also gave good recommendations for restaurants and things to do. I would totally recommend staying here. We wished we could he stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robandden6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baywatcher2, Manager at Bayview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

thank you so much for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Johanna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay Jo welcomed us warmly and couldn't have been nicer. The room has the best view out over the water. The bed linen is the perfect fresh and crispy feel the bed as comfy as being at home. The banner outside says it all 'A luxury stay at a budget price'. We will be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SteffAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Was welcomed by Joann at reception found the apartment to be clean and tidy. The view from the apartment was awesome and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

Not that price was an issue we found this to be excellent value for money and look forward to our next trip

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank GaryEnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews