We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
61
35
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
35
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews individual cabins great location sea view stayed for nights across the road single bed enjoyed our stay lovely spot laundry facilities bed was very comfortable separate bedroom self contained lovely view easy walk minute walk would definitely stay here again new zealand
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. The motel is within easy walking distance of the shops and the ferry. It was cold outside but the unit had a great heater. Loved the view and the privacy.

Room Tip: This motel is set on a hill with a lot of stairs - ask for Unit one for minimal stairs and great views.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank xtine2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Bay Cabinz is a Motel, but is unusual in that each of the Rooms is a detached accommodation unit giving an extra sense of privacy. Each cabin is comfortable and clean and the owners are very friendly and helpful. If I'm ever back in this area I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This place had everything we wanted for an overnight stay in the Bay of Islands. We were welcomed by the owners and shown to our cabin. They were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The cabin itself had everything to be self sufficient for the night and the roof fan was heavenly. On top of all this the location was superb. Everything was within walking distance, including the Wharf for a boat trip and the restaurants. We can also recommend ‘Only Seafood’ for an evening meal as it was the best fish I’ve ever had.
The icing on the cake for this place was being allowed to leave our car there during the day whilst on our boat trip to save on parking charges. (may not be possible in peak season but worth asking)
Thanks again!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Loved Paihia and liked this motel a lot. The property is a little dated, but had everything we needed and the hosts were super friendly and helpful. We were in cabin 10, which was up high (we didn’t have a problem with the steps) with a restricted sea view but no passing foot traffic, so nice and quiet, except on Friday night when the servicemen’s club across the road had live music till about 11.00. Loved the deck - great spot for a pre-dinner drink. A tip for others: when you’re using the bathroom at night make sure your blind is down - we had a free show with our drinks!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ouzo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights & could not have been happier! The location is a short walk from the centre of Paihia.There are restaurants & supermarkets only a 5 minute walk away. The owners are lovely & gave us plenty of tips about what to see & where to eat. We had a lovely private room at the top of the property & had no problems with the stairs. This is not a 5 Star resort, but neither is the price! The rooms are comfortable,clean & well equiped. We had a nice sitting area out the front with great view out to the bay!
The only small criticism I can make is the very small TV, but it was right next to the bed so easy to watch from there.
We are glad we chose Bay Cabinz & highly recommend it if you are visiting the beautiful Bay of Islands!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GippyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews