We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
189
254
99
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
254
99
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room great location separate toilet two double beds per day buffet breakfast outdoor pool small fridge reception staff would stay again first floor good size water front air con ferry terminal across the road two nights
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Excellent place Kingsgate, we were staying around the next bay, and as we are not fish lovers, was finding places to eat difficult, as most of the restaurants on the water front are mainly fish restaurants, so walking around to the next bay was a life saver for us to find the Kingsgate serving a carvery with all the home cook trimmings.
We book in, and came back in the evening for a dinner and drinks, Charlie the restaurant manager, a lady that is, she was not only very pretty but very help fully, and the young girl that served us with our drinks, had a kiwi / Mario name which I just can't remember her name, she was also very help fully, and on our return the following night new what drinks we had from the night before, the restaurant food was great so thank you so much, until we return again

Room Tip: " we did not stay there, but the hotel was very clean
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamG780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Thank you for your wonderful feedback for our restaurant & staff I have personally thanked the staff in a job well done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

The Kingsgate Autolodge Hotel was lovely, very clean with friendly staff and just across the road from the beach front. Chosen by the travel agent back in Adelaide, Sth. Australia. The meals were great as well. Just a short walk down the road was the wharf to the Catamaran to take us out through the Bay of Islands and the Hole in the Rock and Russell on the other side. It was a bit windy but otherwise reasonably calm. We took off a 1.30pm and was out for four hours at least. The first stop was Russell to pick up other passengers before heading out to open waters. There are a lot of small islands out there and we did pull into a small cove area for people to get off and wander the green hills. Then it was off to the Hole in the Rock, our female captain tried to approach the hole from the front, but it was a little too windy and we were being sent towards the rock, so she went around the other side where it was a bit more calmer and then to our surprise, she backed the boat into the hole which was at least 2 stories high for people on the top deck to look up at the rock. Once she thought it was enough, she then gunned the engines and we were out of there in no time. What a woman, she was narrating all around the islands and then took us to a protected cove area when suddenly a pod of dolphins decided to put on a show for us, swimming with the boat and diving into the air and splashing in the deep blue waters of the Bay. It was the icing on the cake for all aboard, with cameras clicking 100 to the dozen, FANTASTIC !

Room Tip: most rooms faced the carpark and were quiet. the restaurant had the best view of the Bay
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

Thank you for your lovely comments. That hole in the rock can be scary at times but a definite must do while staying in the bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

When our holiday company advised us to stay at the autolodge I initially wondered what we would be staying in, but it was lovely. The rooms are large with plenty of storage space with a fridge and complimentary tea and coffee etc. It is convenient to the ferry and it was a beautiful location to stay to enjoy this area of New Zealand. It had a patrons laundry which was very handy to refresh your clothes. The staff were very friendly and was very attentive. The area was very quiet when we went and we did not want to leave. The food was reasonably priced and the breakfast choice was good and tasty. A nice place to stay and close to the water.

Room Tip: Pay a little more to have rooms overlooking the water
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastlakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

I am glad your travel agent suggested you stay with us and I am very happy to hear we didn’t disappoint. Thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

Situated opposite the beach in the main rd you can't get closer to the action. Lovely helpful staff and immaculate rooms.
Room service was amazing. Asparagus and rosemary risotto.. just to die for.. and the pork belly cooked to perfection.
Can't wait till next month.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
Thank crocteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

Thank you for your positive feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to hotel next month

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We stayed at the Kingsgate Hotel on 6th an 7th of October with our two grandchildren.
We found it very quiet, apart from the noise the two boys made . Our room was very clean and great facilities. There was a solar heated pool, a games room and a spa.
We had breakfast included in the package for the adults and the view from the dining room was excellent. would reccomemend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the front look directly onto the beach.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank minx737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for your kind words, we are glad the grandchildren enjoyed our facilities and hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews