We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunseeker Cottages Motel Haruru Paihia New Zealand
Ranked #14 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed two nights at the Sunseeker cottages while attending a wedding in Feb 2012 as a couple plus 7 month old baby.

The cottages are modern Lockwood type construction two bedroom units with plenty of space. Furnishings are comfortable.

The manager was really helpful and found an excellent babysitter for our son while we were at the wedding reception.

You will need a car however as the cottages are about 5 min drive from Paihia.

Would definately recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_and_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at Sunseeker in January 2012 and were really impressed with the 2 bedroom spacious units, the cleanliness, lovely facilities and helpfulness of Jill the owner who offered to help with advise on local attractions. The location is only a few minutes from Paihia and in a nice quiet area. Our young kids loved the playground. Overall our family were wrapped with the location, price and service provided. We would recommend Sunseeker as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed at one of the cottages for 3 nights, but our first thought was when we first stepped into the place: This is a place we could stay for a while.

The first things you will notice when you come in is how new everything is, the cleanliness of the place and the feeling of home it conveys due to how much love and thought has been put into it. A great combination. Our 2 bedroom cottage had everything we needed: all the kitchen equipment, a deck with a table, chairs and a bbq, a TV and there waseven milk in the fridge when we arrived. My Mom also loved the small Christmas tree; my sister and me the free wifi.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
Thank Conny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Just a 5-minute drive from Paihia, a quiet and very comfortable five-star accommodation at a budget price. The cottage had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. Jill at the reception was very helpful and accommodative with our requests. She also gave valuable advise regarding things/activities around Paihia and sought feedback once we got back so that she can help others. This is our first stay in NZ, hope the accommodations at other places will be as good. Highly recommended to couples and small families.

Sambathkumar Family, Melbourne

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed in Sunseekers for 3 nights commencing on the 28 February 2011 and what a true find, it was a home away from home. The cottage was spacious well equipped and spotless. Whilst planning our trip we were not sure whether to stay in central Paihia because we had heard that it was very noisey with a lot of traffic passing through, in the end we decided to stay at the Sunseekers Motel which is about 3 minutes drive from. the centre of Paihia. It was most certainly the right decision as the motel is in a really lovely position, quite and overlooking the hills. You really feel it is a place away from the hussle and bussle of the town which is very tourest. It is quiet and peaceful after a days sightseeing. You feel you can breath, sit back on the terrace and have a nice glass of wine under the stars. At night you could have your windows open at night to let in a breath of fresh air that we dont beleive you could in central Paihia. The cottage was located on a hill overlooking a lovely view. There were two bedrooms, a lounge and kitchen area and a bathroom with one of the most powerful showers we have had in New Zealand. The full cooking facilities which included an oven came in very useful. Jill our host was a very pleasant lady and very knowledgable on the local area, she gave us loads of information on local tours etc. If you like being on holiday in a major tourist destinations but still enjoy a bit of peace and solitude at the end of the day you really should choose Sunseekers Motel. We will most certainly stay there again if we return to the area.
On a personal note we would like to thank Jill for her hospitality and congratulate her on her excellent accommodation. As said previously it was a home friom home and we really felt so comfortable there. It was such a shame we had to move on.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank billyMitonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.9 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
647 reviews
2.6 km away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
3.4 km away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
2.9 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunseeker Cottages Motel Haruru Paihia New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunseeker Cottages Motel Haruru Paihia New Zealand

Address: 4 Ash Grove Circle | Haruru Falls Paihia, Paihia 0204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Paihia
Price Range: $136 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunseeker Cottages Motel Haruru Paihia New Zealand 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 separate private self-contained Lockwood cottages. Ideal for a long & short stays. Two bedroom, queen in one bedroom, and two singles in smaller second bedroom. Sleeps 2 - 4 Full kitchens, incl Fridge/Freezer, and full oven. 32" LCD TV, CD, DVD Large private outdoor deck with rural veiws. Freshly modernised with new flooer & window coverings, Outdoor table and chairs and BBQ. Great for families. Children's playground. No daily maid service. Private/Quite and set well back from road on large park like grounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sunseeker Cottages Motel Haruru Paihia New Zealand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunseeker Cottages Motel Haruru Paihia New Zealand Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing