We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles
from USD 41.00
More Info
from USD 76.50
More Info
from USD 55.60
More Info
from USD 41.00
More Info
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
343
16
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
343
16
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coast trail mtb park great ride dual suspension easy ride start point great local knowledge dropped off these guys great scenery couple of hours new zealand jonny opua twin track waitangi
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Had an awesome day out with my family on a leisurely ride through the NZ countryside and coast. Such a great way to see the countryside. I had my 4 yr old daughter on a child seat , happily entertained by the passing fields of horses and cows, the ride itself is almost all downhill, so very easy even with the extra weight of a toddler. Such a peaceful way to explore the surroundings, beautiful scenery with just the sounds of the countryside and no traffic. Johnny and his crew looked after us all and were very helpful arranging the whole day. Would definitely recommend to others.

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank AURASR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonny M, Owner at Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there Jane, thanks so much for leaving a great review for us. It was a pleasure taking your group out on the Kaikohe to Opua section of the Twin Coast Cycle Trail. Of course, we even have childrens seats for the youngest (and oldest) of children, and small sized bikes too if they are up to the 2 wheelers. Hope the rest of the holiday went well. Cheers, Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Thanks to Jonny and the team for a great trip. Their willingness to adjust the bikes to suit us made for a very comfortable ride.

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank MMMIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonny M, Owner at Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there Ian, thanks for the review mate, we really do appreciate it. I'm glad you enjoyed getting out there on a bike in Northland and checking it all out. We do ensure that we fit all the bikes to the individual riders and make sure they are satisfied with the bike and how to ride it. A comfy and quality ride is what we aim for :). Cheers, Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

My husband and I rented bikes for the Taste of the Trail ride back in early March and we had the best morning! Each of the employees we interacted with at the shop were incredibly friendly, welcoming, and helpful. They helped us get geared up, carted us a few miles down the road to the trailhead, and left us with instructions to be back for pickup in about 4 hours. The ride is self-guided and manageable for even the most novice of riders - a mostly flat, well-maintained, and low trafficked trail. Kawakawa is the adorable destination town of the ride and if you time it right, you'll have about an hour to grab a bite and do some exploring before beginning your ride back. We were lucky enough to be there on a Friday when the old steam engine was running, which was so cool. Overall such a positive & laid-back experience renting through Paihia Mountain Bikes - would do it again in a heartbeat!

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Brittany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonny M, Owner at Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there Brittany. Wow, thanks for the terrific review- can't say how much we appreciate it. There isnt too much more to add to this trip, but this pretty much sums up our Taste of the Trail trip for all the readers. Flat, Easy, Scenic and enjoyable half day activity with options to stop for lunch as well. As mentioned, if you are lucky to catch the train running right through the middle of town, then that is a big highlight too, you can even put your bikes on the train and catch it part-way along the route! Hope the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Excellent friendly service, very efficient , bikes were easy to use and well looked after. Great scenic ride, I look forward to doing more rides like this! highly recommend

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank anamcleay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonny M, Owner at Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there Ana and William. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review guys, really appreciate it. Glad you found the bikes easy to use and well maintained too, we do try to ensure that all the bikes are in great working condition for you :). Taking your own car to Opua to ride from Opua to Kawakawa and return on the very flat and scenic section of the Twin Coast Cycle Trail is a great idea if you can. See you up here again next time for the Waitangi Mountain Bike Park- you will be all over it! Cheers, Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Very impressed with Paihia Mountain Bikes. Bikes were pretty good and well maintained. Good value and the bike park routes were well explained. Would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank nick_magoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonny M, Owner at Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Gday there Nick, thanks for the review mate, really appreciate it. I'm glad you got part of the day free to head out and explore the World Class trail network in the Waitangi Mountain Bike Park we are lucky to have up here. The over 50km of tracks in the forest are easy to navigate once you have a map and a bit of an explanation about them...and there are more and more being built all the time! Hope that bike of yours is now all fixed back down in Christchurch. Have a great one and see you up here again next time. Cheers, Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews