We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shuttle service”

Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals services both the WAITANGI MOUNTAIN BIKE PARK and the TWIN COAST CYCLE RAIL TRAIL with Brand New, High Quality Full Suspension Mountain Bikes and Shuttle Services. Regular trips leaving daily Our bikes are perfect for both experienced and beginner riders, and we can set you up on the bike, give you a map, helmet, mtb park entry (if needed), transport and heaps of local knowledge and trail advice. All sorted :) Waitangi Mountain Bike Park: A professionally built, world class mountain bike park, with over 40km of singletrack trails to suit all abilities from Beginner (Grade 2) to Expert (Grade 5) and loads of trails in between. A good place to explore as an adventure with the family, as a group of mates or for the adrenalin junkies and mtb addicts who want to experience some of the best trails in New Zealand. A full-suspension bike is a must in this park, you might end up with a bit of a sore bum if you ride anything else! Twin Coast Cycle Trail: The Twin Coast Cycle Trail is one of New Zealand's Great Rides, and a perfect option for those new to biking, or wanting to see a few more sights, history and get a glimpse of New Zealand rural towns and backcountry. Our Cycle Trail extends from Opua (6km south of Paihia) to Horeke on the west coast to complete an 85km trail following the old railway corridors. The Trail is all about grade 2 level so is definitely rideable by beginner, family and older riders. Paihia MTB Rentals can arrange transport for you and your bike to the start and end of the trail too. Our high spec full-suspension bikes (and Gel Seats) are very welcome ride on the trail as the rear suspension soaks up every little bump and makes for a very relaxing and comfortable ride, you'll never want to go back to another bike again ;). A very scenic day (or 2 or 3) out on the trail, one of the Must Do's while in Northland. We can offer transport with our specialized bike trailer to any points along the trail What we do: -Mountain Bike Rental for the Waitangi Mountain Bike Park -Mountain Bike Rental for the Twin Coast Cycle Trail -Transport/Shuttles for the Twin Coast Cycle Trail and Waitangi MTB Park for our HIRE BIKES -Transport/Shuttles for the Twin Coast Cycle Trail and Waitangi MTB Park for your OWN BIKE -Cycling Holiday Planning -Maps and MTB Park Donation, Day and Annual Pass Collection -Trail Advice and Local Riding Information Feel free to get in touch for group discounts, multi-day hires, and any other questions. We can always arrange mountain biking holidays and packages including accommodation for the MTB Park and/or the Rail Trail. Why not stay in Paihia over the weekend and let us help you experience the full Rail Trail over a few days. Check out all our package options at our website.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great service from Johnny and Ellie......provided a great service, plenty information on the area we cycled. We are happy cyclists ‍♀️ ‍♂️

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank WhitiJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonny M, Owner at Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there Jill, thanks so much for the review. A happy cyclist is always a friendly cyclist. Glad we were able to make your trip what it was on the Twin Coast Cycle Trail. Hope you keep getting out there more and exploring more of the trails. For our readers out there, we do take your own bikes as well for a transport only service on the Twin Coast Cycle Trail too, so if you have your own trusty steed then by all means bring it along, or else use one of our well maintained quality bikes. Cheers, Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rail trail"
in 16 reviews
"mtb park"
in 15 reviews
"great ride"
in 13 reviews
"dual suspension"
in 4 reviews
"coast to coast"
in 4 reviews
"excellent friendly service"
in 3 reviews
"great mountain"
in 3 reviews
"start point"
in 4 reviews
"great local knowledge"
in 4 reviews
"dropped off"
in 4 reviews
"these guys"
in 11 reviews
"amazing scenery"
in 3 reviews
"whole family"
in 3 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 4 reviews
"day trip"
in 5 reviews
"new zealand"
in 3 reviews
"jonny"
in 77 reviews
Filter

65 - 69 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Had an awesome day out with my family on a leisurely ride through the NZ countryside and coast. Such a great way to see the countryside. I had my 4 yr old daughter on a child seat , happily entertained by the passing fields of horses and cows, the ride itself is almost all downhill, so very easy even with the extra weight of a toddler. Such a peaceful way to explore the surroundings, beautiful scenery with just the sounds of the countryside and no traffic. Johnny and his crew looked after us all and were very helpful arranging the whole day. Would definitely recommend to others.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank AURASR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonny M, Owner at Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there Jane, thanks so much for leaving a great review for us. It was a pleasure taking your group out on the Kaikohe to Opua section of the Twin Coast Cycle Trail. Of course, we even have childrens seats for the youngest (and oldest) of children, and small sized bikes too if they are up to the 2 wheelers. Hope the rest of the holiday went well. Cheers, Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Thanks to Jonny and the team for a great trip. Their willingness to adjust the bikes to suit us made for a very comfortable ride.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank MMMIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonny M, Owner at Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there Ian, thanks for the review mate, we really do appreciate it. I'm glad you enjoyed getting out there on a bike in Northland and checking it all out. We do ensure that we fit all the bikes to the individual riders and make sure they are satisfied with the bike and how to ride it. A comfy and quality ride is what we aim for :). Cheers, Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

My husband and I rented bikes for the Taste of the Trail ride back in early March and we had the best morning! Each of the employees we interacted with at the shop were incredibly friendly, welcoming, and helpful. They helped us get geared up, carted us a few miles down the road to the trailhead, and left us with instructions to be back for pickup in about 4 hours. The ride is self-guided and manageable for even the most novice of riders - a mostly flat, well-maintained, and low trafficked trail. Kawakawa is the adorable destination town of the ride and if you time it right, you'll have about an hour to grab a bite and do some exploring before beginning your ride back. We were lucky enough to be there on a Friday when the old steam engine was running, which was so cool. Overall such a positive & laid-back experience renting through Paihia Mountain Bikes - would do it again in a heartbeat!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Brittany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonny M, Owner at Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there Brittany. Wow, thanks for the terrific review- can't say how much we appreciate it. There isnt too much more to add to this trip, but this pretty much sums up our Taste of the Trail trip for all the readers. Flat, Easy, Scenic and enjoyable half day activity with options to stop for lunch as well. As mentioned, if you are lucky to catch the train running right through the middle of town, then that is a big highlight too, you can even put your bikes on the train and catch it part-way along the route! Hope the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Excellent friendly service, very efficient , bikes were easy to use and well looked after. Great scenic ride, I look forward to doing more rides like this! highly recommend

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank anamcleay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonny M, Owner at Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there Ana and William. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review guys, really appreciate it. Glad you found the bikes easy to use and well maintained too, we do try to ensure that all the bikes are in great working condition for you :). Taking your own car to Opua to ride from Opua to Kawakawa and return on the very flat and scenic section of the Twin Coast Cycle Trail is a great idea if you can. See you up here again next time for the Waitangi Mountain Bike Park- you will be all over it! Cheers, Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Paihia Mountain Bike Rentals and Shuttles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing