We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Retro Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy the pool after a hot day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the pool after a hot day
The cottage is recently renovated in 1900's style! Enjoy a good  night sleep!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Enjoy the pool after a hot day
The cottage is recently renovated in 1900's style!
Enjoy a good  night sleep!
Enjoy our continental breakfast with home made bread
Enjoy the vintage print on the wall 'Bluff Hill late 1800's'
Antique light switches and a stylish tab
Cute teapot
An internet radio at your service. Receive your home country on the radio
Stylish bathroom
The bed & breakfast
The cottage with little deck
The bottlebrush tree in front of the cottage, flowers in November
Enjoy the pool and relax in the sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
BigDraw
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“Retro Retreat”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

While in NZ we had planned to stay in different types of accommodation (hotels, apartments, B&B's) but this was the only chalet. Kitty and Peter have poured some love into this, the attention to art-deco era is great (when we arrive there was a radio playing 30's music). Kitty arrived in the morning laden with an excellent breakfast (I mean excellent). As coincidences go, found out that the couple are from the same Dutch town where I had lived and worked for a number of years. Kitty's information folders are only narrowly rivaled by my wife's! and she was very helpful. A great nights sleep and awoken by birdsong.
It's a nice walk down into the town but a bit of a stretch coming back.
100% recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geo2006
UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cute stay in Napier”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Great little place in Napier. The cabin is cosy and cute. Free Wi-Fi and we even had Netflix on the big TV. Breakfast was great- a hamper with freshly baked breads and pastries, granola, meats and jams.Kitty even made us a small heart shaped cake as we were on our honeymoon- a really nice touch! Lots of brochures and pamphlets for local restaurants and places to visit.

We had a car so no problem getting around though be aware it is a very steep walk down to Napier centre. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
65Katie
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional high quality bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Visited Napier in September 2015, perfect location for walking down into Napier, good workout coming up the hill. Very welcoming, very quirky and comfortable for our 3 days there, throughout our 3 weeks in NZ. Kitty's breakfasts - amazing with different homemade breads and jams each day, WOW this is a must b&b whilst visiting the area, thank you Kitty & Peter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden236
North Island, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hands down the best B&B I've ever stayed at”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed one night at Bluff Hill B&B during our 3 week holiday in New Zealand (both islands). Our brief time there was an unexpected highlight of our trip so far. Kitty and Peter (the owners) have put together a BEAUTIFUL little cottage. It sits in the middle of a lush stream valley, and the property is full of beautiful trees and flowers whose smell greets you as you come in.
The cottage itself is remarkable. The owner is an accomplished electrician and carpenter, and every aspect of the cottage is impeccable. It has a rustic feel and look but with all the modern conveniences. There is so much personality in the cottage, from a 1920's style (internet) radio that plays tunes from that era (to match the decor) to the choice of fixtures in the cabin, to an elaborate little mouse house hidden in the wall that you will have to find and then marvel at.
There is free wireless, and good, fast, wireless to boot! You can watch streaming movies on Netflix on a very large flat-screen TV. There is a large, comfortable bathroom and roomy shower with lots of strong, hot water.
The cottage has picture books of Napier and other interesting items. Kitty (the owner) took us through local attractions with a map, and made excellent restaurant and activity recommendations.
And if that wasn't enough, the breakfast served the next morning was simply unbelievable! My wife has some specific food restrictions, and Kitty prepared the most spectacular baked goods and breakfast tray we've ever seen catering to those restrictions. Plus there was the additional ample helping of many other breakfast treats. This breakfast alone sustained us for the rest of the day (and we couldn't get to about half of it). If Kitty ever decides to drop out of the B&B business, she could open up a bakery and do fine.
All-in-all I cannot say enough good things about this B&B. TripAdvisor tells me I've written over 50 reviews for them. If I could rank a favorite, this would be it!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the cottage and the attention to detail and craftmanship
Liked least: The bed is not too large
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y7695AIpe...
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way ”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived a little early and we're warmly greeted by the owners Kitty and Peter.

The accommodation is a fantastic converted wood shed in the garden. It is very modern but also has those 1930's touches that reflect the area of Napier.

As we entered the room a radio in the corner was playing vintage 1930's music. But if you want TV you have a 42" Ltd TV with Netflix.

Breakfast arrived every morning at the agreed 9am. And boy oh boy was it good. Homemade bread, homemade scones. Jam, fruit yoghurt, homemade granola. Cheese and meats... Brilliant.

There's a swimming pool which you have use of but as it was Sept it was too cold to have a dip.

The accommodation is a short 5 min walk to the Bluff Hill lookout. With great views across the bay. It's also a 5 min drive into town.

I can rate this place higher than 5 stars if I could I would.

Perfect perfect perfect

Ps.... If you stay look out for Jerry's place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing