We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden treasure”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy the pool after a hot day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the pool after a hot day
The cottage is recently renovated in 1900's style! Enjoy a good  night sleep!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Enjoy the pool after a hot day
The cottage is recently renovated in 1900's style!
Enjoy a good  night sleep!
Enjoy our continental breakfast with home made bread
Enjoy the vintage print on the wall 'Bluff Hill late 1800's'
Antique light switches and a stylish tab
Cute teapot
An internet radio at your service. Receive your home country on the radio
Stylish bathroom
The bed & breakfast
The cottage with little deck
The bottlebrush tree in front of the cottage, flowers in November
Enjoy the pool and relax in the sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
coletteci...
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one night along our trip of the north island and left it wishing we had time to spend more in this quaint and unique bed and breakfast. The chalet itself is uncomparable to your normal b&b with its period finishes and 1920s feel. The breakfast was exceptional with everything from granola, mixed breads, fruits, homemade jams to cold meats and cheeses. Our host was more than helpful willing to point us in the right direction of things to do and places to eat. We stayed in a lot of places on our trip but this is the one we will remember.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2014
Hi Colette, thank you again for your stay at our B&B and thank you for your kind words. We are happy we have given you something special to remember. We hope you have enjoyed the rest of your trip as well. Warm Regards from Peter and Kitty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morganeal...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, simply the best B&B!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I absolutely loved staying here. We enjoyed the host hospitality and amazing breakfast we would never stay anywhere else in Hawkes Bay! We loved it thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the original features of the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How lucky we were to be pointed in the direction of Kitty and Peter's delightful little cottage, by the Napier information Centre. Period furnishings and decorations have been assembled in keeping with the Art Deco town of Napier and make the place unique, plus an extremely comfortable bed. Then there is the continental breakfast. Eggs, cooked meats, fresh fruit, orange juice, jam, yoghurt, granola, croissants and if that's not all, beautiful home made bread. This was the best breakfast we had in New Zealand. We enjoyed it so much we decided to stay a second night. Not been open long - wish them every success!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron F
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely peaceful place to stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed two nights at Kitty's place and wished we could have stayed longer. Although small the cottage has everything you need, a lovely shower room, a cute kitchen/diner and the bed is so comfortable, it is like Hansel and Gretles cottage. It is situated in the peaceful garden of Kitty and Peters house. The view from the top of Bluff Hill is stunning and only a short walk from the cottage. You have your own allocated parking space and also the use of the swimming pool. The breakfast could feed an army, with a variety of home made rolls and croissants, eggs, fresh orange juice, cereal, yogurt, cold meats/cheese, fresh fruit and preserves. All this is bought to the door on a very large tray and bread basket at the time that you request.
Nothing is too much trouble for Kitty and Peter and they both have a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area.
We would thoroughly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Dear Ron and Marilyn, thank you for your kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our B&B. We hope you have had a lovely time in New Zealand. Kind Regards, Kitty Langbroek
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverage...
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Stayed at Bluff Hill B&B for two nights - it did not just live up to our expectations, it far EXCEEDED it. One of the best, if not THE best b&b's we ever stayed, in New Zealand. The accommodation, which is separate from the house, is charming and full of character. Our hosts, Kitty and Peter were kindness itself, and made us incredibly welcome. Being avid travellers themselves they are aware of what their guests may have in mind when visiting the area, they were ready with recommendations, on where to eat, visit and explore the region. Kitty and Peter’s attention to detail, is what makes this place so special. We were amazed with the breakfast selection…kept us going all day. Thank you. The aroma of fresh bread rolls is the perfect way to start the day! The Bluff B&B is a gem and we wish Kitty and Peter every success – they are genuinely interested in people and ensure their guests are comfortable and relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Ambience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing